A Red Herring Without Mustard

A Red Herring Without Mustard : A Flavia de Luce Mystery Book 3

4.07 (28,298 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$22.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

'You frighten me,' the Gypsy said. 'Never have I seen my crystal ball so filled with darkness.' So begins eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce's third adventure through the charming but deceptively dark byways of the village of Bishop's Lacey. What the fortune teller in fact claimed to see was a vision of Flavia's mother, Harriet, who died on a mountainside in Tibet when Flavia was less than a year old. 'She's trying to come home,' the old woman intones. 'And she needs your help.'For Flavia, the old gypsy's words open up old wounds and new possibilities - not all of them nice ones. Is she a faker, motivated by the fact that the rom used to camp in the grounds of Buckshaw until Flavia's father turned them off, with tragic results? Or is there some truth to her powers, and the message she brings back from the other side? And when the village is rocked by another ghastly murder, how will a growing fascination with gypsy lore help Flavia to solve it?show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 140 x 218 x 40mm | 557.92g
  • Orion Publishing Co
  • Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0752897152
  • 9780752897158
  • 150,069

Review quote

I'm a devotee of good storytelling that sucks me in and won't let go until the book is over. A Red Herring Without Mustard is the third of Alan Bradley's charming series featuring 11-year-old Flavia de Luce, an eccentric child with a fascination for chemistry and death. The pitch-perfect books are set in the 1950s, but there is nothing sentimental about Flavia and her world -- Val McDermid * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING * Engaging, entertaining, bright and breezy; and above all, great fun! * GOOD BOOK GUIDE * The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite * MAIL ON SUNDAY * Alan Bradley?s Flavia de Luce series, which is on its third volume with Red Herring Without Mustard, continues to delight, intrigue, and enchant in equal measure * BOOK GEEKS * Flavia is mercilessly addictive -- Jake Kerridge * DAILY TELEGRAPH * Former University of Saskatchewan professor publishes his sequel to Bottom of the Pie. This time eleven-year-old sleuth Flavia de Luce gets a tip off from a mysterious gypsy * TNT MAGAZINE * This latest entry in Alan Bradley's charming series is every bit as delightful as its predecessors * MYSTERY SCENE * While fighting off her two older sisters, and helping others, Flavia grows as a person. She shows a lot of spunk, and unlike "Lou Grant", I like spunk. I like this series, and especially Flavia * DEADLY PLEASURES * I loved it. The writing grabbed me and refused to let go before I reached the bottom of the first page. It's witty and thought-provoking. I found myself reading about some quite gruesome situations with a grin on my face because the writing was just so good. You'll love Flavia - clever, but not a clever-clogs ... and with her own uncertainties. She's no angel ... and the trick with the Bible quote was wicked but funny -- Sue Magee * THE BOOK BAG * What Alan Bradley manages to pull off so well (and remember, he's a fairly elderly Canadian gentleman who is said never to have set foot in England before writing THE SWEETNESS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PIE) is to create a little world that has its basis only in books, those books that we plunged into, heart and soul, when were eleven too * REVIEWING THE EVIDENCE.COM * Engaging, entertaining, bright and breezy; and above all, great fun! * Good Book Guide * Hilarious, eccentric and mischievous * Deadly Pleasures * It's like entering the lost world of the Mitford sisters where the girls are allowed to run completely wild * Crime Squad * At once precocious and endearing. Flavia is a marvellous character. Quirkily appealing, this is definitely a crime novel with a difference * Choice * A clever, witty and totally gripping read with lots of surprises * Essentials * Flavia is mercilessly addictive * Daily Telegraph * A breath of fresh air to the world of period-piece sleuthing * Independent * Flavia is enchanting * New York Times * Delightfully entertaining * Guardian * Certain to become a national treasure * Daily Mail * Praise for the cosy crime Flavia de Luce Mysteries - perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders: The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite * Mail on Sunday *show more

About Alan Bradley

Alan Bradley is a retired Director of Television Engineering at the University of Saskatchewan, where he lectured on screen writing. He is the author of the memoir, THE SHOEBOX BIBLE, as well as the award-winning Flavia de Luce mysteries.show more

Rating details

28,298 ratings
4.07 out of 5 stars
5 31% (8,786)
4 48% (13,580)
3 19% (5,275)
2 2% (534)
1 0% (123)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X