Rebus's Scotland

Rebus's Scotland : A Personal Journey

3.89 (332 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author)  , Photographs by  , Photographs by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Ian Rankin's guide to the places in Scotland that have provided inspiration for his bestselling Inspector Rebus novels.'His novels are playing a significant part in redefining Scotland's image of itself in literature' INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAYIn REBUS'S SCOTLAND Ian Rankin uncovers the Scotland that the tourist never sees, highlighting the places that inspired the settings for the Inspector Rebus novels. Rankin also reveals the story of Rebus and how he came into being, who he is, and what his - and Rankin's - Scotland is like. With over 100 evocative photographs, specially commissioned to reflect the text, REBUS'S SCOTLAND is the perfect gift for anyone interested in Scotland or in the novels of Ian Rankin.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 160 pages
  • 134 x 174 x 18mm | 281.23g
  • Orion Publishing Co
  • Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Reissue.
  • 1 Maps
  • 0752877712
  • 9780752877716
  • 84,055

Review quote

'This evocative book reveals the inspiration behind the settings for the Rebus books, as well as Rankin's own deeply personal relationship with Scotland. Effortlessly blending Rankin's autobiograpy with Rebus's biography, from the author's rural childhood, through the streets of Edinburgh, to explanations of in-jokes and Rebus's complex make-up, we are lead through a starkly beautiful Scotland unseen by most' GOOD BOOK GUIDE 'Evocative text and stunning photographs highlight a Scotland that tourists never see' TRAVELLER MAGAZINE
show more

About Ian Rankin

Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into thirty-six languages and are bestsellers worldwide.Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for Resurrection Men. He has also been shortlisted for the Anthony Award in the USA, won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis. Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Edinburgh, Hull and the Open University.A contributor to BBC2's Newsnight Review, he also presented his own TV series, Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts. Rankin is a number one bestseller in the UK and has received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons. Twitter @Beathhigh
show more

Rating details

332 ratings
3.89 out of 5 stars
5 25% (83)
4 44% (147)
3 27% (89)
2 3% (10)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X