Raymie Nightingale
14%
off

Raymie Nightingale

3.92 (13,521 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

New York Times bestselling author Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving yet witty story of an unforgettable summer friendship. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson, David Almond and Katherine Rundell.

In her seventh novel, international bestselling author and twice winner of the prestigious Newbery Medal Kate DiCamillo tells a masterful story that blends pathos and humour. Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father - who has run away with a dental hygienist - will see Raymie's picture in the paper and (maybe) come home. To win, not only does Raymie have to do good deeds and learn how to twirl a baton, but she has to compete with the wispy, frequently fainting Louisiana Elefante with her show-business background and the fiery, stubborn Beverly Tapinski, who's determined to sabotage the contest. But as the competition approaches, loneliness, loss and unanswerable questions draw the three girls into an unlikely friendship - and challenge them to come to each other's rescue in unexpected ways.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 130 x 200 x 20mm | 260g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1406373184
  • 9781406373189
  • 21,012

Review quote

Featured/recommended * Bustle (blog) * Featured/recommended * Star Tribune * Cover reveal * Entertainment Weekly * Acquisition noted * Publishers Lunch * Acquisition announcement with Kate DiCamillo feature * Publishers Weekly *
show more

About Kate DiCamillo

Kate DiCamillo is one of America's most well-regarded storytellers, author of The Tale of Despereaux and Flora and Ulysses, both of which have been awarded the prestigious Newbery Medal; Because of Winn-Dixie, which received a Newbery Honor; The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, which won a Boston Globe-Horn Book Award; and the bestselling Mercy Watson series. Born in Philadelphia, she grew up in Florida and now lives in Minneapolis, USA, where she faithfully writes two pages a day, five days a week.
show more

Rating details

13,521 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 30% (4,051)
4 40% (5,376)
3 24% (3,241)
2 5% (673)
1 1% (180)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X