Raymie Nightingale
26%
off

Raymie Nightingale

3.92 (7,896 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

New York Times bestselling author Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving yet witty story of an unforgettable summer friendship. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson, David Almond and Katherine Rundell.In her seventh novel, international bestselling author and twice winner of the prestigious Newbery Medal Kate DiCamillo tells a masterful story that blends pathos and humour. Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father - who has run away with a dental hygienist - will see Raymie's picture in the paper and (maybe) come home. To win, not only does Raymie have to do good deeds and learn how to twirl a baton, but she has to compete with the wispy, frequently fainting Louisiana Elefante with her show-business background and the fiery, stubborn Beverly Tapinski, who's determined to sabotage the contest. But as the competition approaches, loneliness, loss and unanswerable questions draw the three girls into an unlikely friendship - and challenge them to come to each other's rescue in unexpected ways.show more

Product details

  • 9+
  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 149 x 202 x 25mm | 381g
  • Walker Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1406363138
  • 9781406363135
  • 30,335

Review quote

Acquisition announcement with Kate DiCamillo feature * Publishers Weekly * Acquisition noted * Publishers Lunch * Cover reveal * Entertainment Weekly * Featured/recommended * Star Tribune * Featured/recommended * Bustle (blog) * A new novel from the two-time Newberry Medal winner is always an event, and this is her most autobiographical work to date. [...] Warm, witty and wise, this beautifully realised bildungsroman is highly recommended. * The Bookseller * New from the double Newbery Medal winner, I'm so excited to read this. [...] Expect pathos, quirky humour and a touch of magic. * The Bookseller * DiCamillo's prose is resolutely unflashy. [...] But in her simple writing there is the weight of acuity, seen in her ability to inhabit the perspective of a child fumbling to understand `the list of impossible, unanswerable questions" that she has about the adult world. [...] In Raymie Nightingale there is no fantasy, but the story has an air of fable. By the end the heroine does not make sense of the adult world - but, like the reader, she sees it more clearly. -- Emily Bearn * The Daily Telegraph * DiCamillo's prose is resolutely unflashy. [...] But in her simple writing there is the weight of acuity, seen in her ability to inhabit the perspective of a child fumbling to understand `the list of impossible, unanswerable questions" that she has about the adult world. [...] In Raymie Nightingale there is no fantasy, but the story has an air of fable. By the end the heroine does not make sense of the adult world - but, like the reader, she sees it more clearly. * The Daily Telegraph * DiCamillo manages to convey themes of loss and belonging, or transience and strength despite the extreme lightness and simplicity of the phrasing. Each word carefully chosen, each sentence crafted to perfection. This is the ultimate stripped prose. There's not much description in the book, but where it appears, it sparkles like a pageant dress [...] It's a privilege to put books like this in the hands of children. Letting them soak up pared down yet excellent writing, so that they can discern what works and what doesn't, and learn how to be excellent wordsmiths themselves. With the backdrop of a rather quirky little story. * Minerva Reads * ...sweet and funny [...] This is very, very special, and I marvel at the mind of anyone who can come up with these ideas. * Bookwitch blog * A moving story about friendship, family and the ties that bind. [...] A delight. * South Wales Evening Post * The writing is wonderful, emotions are expressed eloquently and with a turn of phrase that feels original and fresh in relatively short chapters. The author has a kindly humour that runs through even the saddest sections of the story giving it a balance suitable for its target audience. At times this is poignant but it never becomes depressing as our little band of friends learn to cope and form a friendship that by the end of the book the reader believes has become a lasting one. I enjoyed this so much I am tempted to re-read it and that doesn't happen often. Highly recommended. * The Bookbag * a moving and funny story about friendship, courage and determination * Newbury Weekly News * Raymie Nightingale is a tale filled with such wisdom and beauty that I found myself stopping to re-read sentences, marvelling at how Kate DiCamillo manages to get so many profound ideas across in such seemingly simple sentences. * The Belfast Telegraph * A remarkable new novel * IBW Children's Book Guide, The Bookseller * A strangely lyrical tale, set in 1975, when 10 year old Raymie's father has just run away from home with a dental hygienist. She decides to impress him by winning a baton-twirling contest. * The Daily Telegraph * ...this sweet and rather mystical tale creeps up and envelopes you. It is totally charming... A classic in the making. * School Library Association * The nice short chapters are the first thing that will make this touching book appear less daunting to struggling readers, and once kids get stuck in, it's a real page-turner about love and loss. * The Independent * My standout novel of the year for age 8+ [...] a tale filled with such wisdom and also beautifully crafted that I found myself stopping to re-read sentences. [...] A deeply affecting tale of adventure, friendship and baton twirling. * Irish Independent * "I adored Raymie Nightingale by one of my all-time favourite writers, Kate Di Camillo, a gift of a book about friendship, love and baton twirling." * Irish Times, Children's Books of the Year recommended by Sarah Webb * "[...] Kate DiCamillo's enchanting Raymie Nightingale is one of those effortless books that you soak up, not read, and then want to start all over again once you've finished. [...] readers of all ages will easily get caught up in Raymie's attempts to understand "the list of impossible, unanswerable questions" that adults scatter in their wake. [...] It is funny, poignant and amazingly entertaining read." * South China Morning Post / Young Post in Hong Kong *show more

About Kate DiCamillo

Kate DiCamillo is one of America's most well-regarded storytellers, author of The Tale of Despereaux and Flora and Ulysses, both of which have been awarded the prestigious Newbery Medal; Because of Winn-Dixie, which received a Newbery Honor; The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, which won a Boston Globe-Horn Book Award; and the bestselling Mercy Watson series. Born in Philadelphia, she grew up in Florida and now lives in Minneapolis, USA, where she faithfully writes two pages a day, five days a week.show more

Rating details

7,896 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 30% (2,382)
4 40% (3,141)
3 24% (1,887)
2 5% (383)
1 1% (103)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X