In the Ravenous Dark

In the Ravenous Dark

3.87 (2,429 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

A pansexual bloodmage reluctantly teams up with an undead spirit to start a rebellion among the living and the dead, in this dark YA fantasy by A.M. Strickland, author of Beyond the Black Door, whom Richard Kadrey calls "a storyteller of both grace and power."

In Thanopolis, those gifted with magic are assigned undead spirits to guard them--and control them. Ever since Rovan's father died trying to keep her from this fate, she's hidden her magic. But when she accidentally reveals her powers, she's bound to a spirit and thrust into a world of palace intrigue and deception.

Desperate to escape, Rovan finds herself falling for two people she can't fully trust: Lydea, a beguiling, rebellious princess; and Ivrilos, the handsome spirit with the ability to control Rovan, body and soul.

Together, they uncover a secret that will destroy Thanopolis. To save them all, Rovan will have to start a rebellion in both the mortal world and the underworld, and find a way to trust the princess and spirit battling for her heart--if she doesn't betray them first.

An Imprint Book
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 142 x 198 x 36mm | 476g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250776600
  • 9781250776600
  • 133,524

Review quote

Praise for In the Ravenous Dark:

"[A] feast of forbidden magics and deadly romances that keeps you on the edge of your seat until the last bloody page. Deliciously dark and riveting, it will leave you hungry for more. Perfect for fans of Wicked Saints and Gideon the Ninth." --Ashley Poston, national best-selling author of Geekerella

A deviously plotted tale of twisting complexity where diversity lives and breathes as naturally as a beating heart. It's everything you could want in a dark fantasy. --Lisa Maxwell, New York Times-bestselling author of The Last Magician

Blending dark blood magic with funny moments, In the Ravenous Dark is a lush, queer and intense YA fantasy that needs to be on your shelves! Rovan may or may not steal your girl but more importantly, she's coming for your heart--and this woman always gets what she wants. --The Nerd Daily

Rovan is a tenacious spitfire who fights for freedom and vengeance by any means necessary. Strickland's worldbuilding is grand...dauntless and passionate. --Kirkus Reviews

Strickland conjures a seductive world...where blood and shadow magics intertwine. [T]he fast-paced plot and romantic themes will appeal. --Publisher's Weekly
show more

About A M Strickland

A.M. Strickland was a bibliophile who wanted to be an author before she knew what either of those words meant. She shares a home base in Alaska with her spouse, her pugs, and her piles and piles of books. She loves traveling, dancing, tattoos, and every shade of teal in existence, but especially the darker ones. Her books include Beyond the Black Door and Shadow Run. She uses both she/her and they/them pronouns, and you can find her on Twitter.
show more

Rating details

2,429 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 28% (687)
4 42% (1,010)
3 22% (529)
2 6% (146)
1 2% (57)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X