The Raven Tower
11%
off

The Raven Tower

3.93 (14,852 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.
Not ordering to 309? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2020 WORLD FANTASY AWARD

A usurper has claimed the throne. Invaders amass at the borders. And they have made their alliances with enemy gods...

For centuries the kingdom of Iraden has been protected by a god known as the Raven. But in their hour of need, the Raven speaks nothing to its people. It is into this unrest that the warrior Eolo - aide to the true heir to the throne - arrives. In seeking to help his master reclaim his city, Eolo discovers that the Raven's Tower holds a secret. Its foundations conceal a dark history that has been waiting to reveal itself... and to set in motion a chain of events that could destroy Iraden forever.

A triumph of the imagination, The Raven Tower is the first fantasy novel by Ann Leckie, New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards. Gods meddle in the fates of men, men play with the fates of gods and a pretender must be cast down from the throne in this breathtaking fantasy masterpiece.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 34mm | 320g
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 9780356507026
  • 94,487

Review Text

I've been reading fantasy my whole life. After all these years, it's a delight to read something so different, so wonderful and strange Patrick Rothfuss, author of THE NAME OF THE WIND
show more

Review quote

I've been reading fantasy my whole life. After all these years, it's a delight to read something so different, so wonderful and strange -- Patrick Rothfuss, author of THE NAME OF THE WIND A powerhouse epic of humans and gods at war, deeply imagined and profoundly thrilling. There are echoes of Shakespeare and Le Guin in The Raven Tower, but its strange dark brilliance could only have come from Ann Leckie -- Lev Grossman A gripping story that's one part mystery, one part a new history of the world, The Raven Tower is an incredible fantasy, told by one of the most unique voices I've had the privilege of reading -- S. A. Chakraborty The Raven Tower is a unique, intricate fantasy set in a fascinating world of gods who are at once formidable and vulnerable. Original and powerful - I loved it. Highly recommended for fans of N. K. Jemisin or Guy Gavriel Kay -- Django Wexler Earthsea's elegance meets Sanderson's clever magic in this talon-sharp saga of divinity and revenge. Ann Leckie is unstoppable -- Seth Dickinson
show more

About Ann Leckie

The record-breaking winner of the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C. Clarke and British Science Fiction Association Awards for her debut novel, Ann Leckie lives in St Louis, Missouri, with her husband, children and cats. You can find her website at www.annleckie.com or chat to her on Twitter at @Ann_Leckie.
show more

Rating details

14,852 ratings
3.93 out of 5 stars
5 32% (4,782)
4 39% (5,789)
3 21% (3,060)
2 6% (880)
1 2% (341)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X