The Quick

The Quick

3.24 (8,546 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$27.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY "SLATE"
For fans of Anne Rice, "The Historian, "and" The Night Circus, "an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London
1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling "Doctor Knife." But the answer to her brother's disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England.
In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. "The Quick" will establish her as one of fiction's most dazzling talents.
Praise for "The Quick"
"A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist."--Kate Atkinson"
"
"A cracking good read . . . Owen takes the gothic conventions of the vampire novel in a refreshing new direction."--Deborah Harkness, author of "A Discovery of Witches" and "The Book of Life"
"A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun."--"The New York Times Book Review" (Editor's Choice)
""The Quick" is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing.""--The Dallas Morning News"
" "
"The book's energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the 'unputdownable' novel.""--The Economist"
" "
"A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination."--Tana French, author of "In the Woods"
" "
"A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day.""--"Minneapolis" Star Tribune"
"Stylishly sinister . . . will have you sleeping with the lights on.""--O: The Oprah Magazine"
" "
"A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre."--Hilary Mantel, author of "Wolf Hall"
"A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . [Owen] weaves what's here with what's beyond as easily as J. K. Rowling does."--"Slate"
"[An author of] prodigious gifts . . . Owen captures Dickens's London with glee and produces a number of characters Dickens would be happy to call his own.""--Pittsburgh Post-Gazette"
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 523 pages
  • 169 x 241 x 43mm | 816g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0812993276
  • 9780812993271
  • 1,494,381

Review quote

Advance praise for "The Quick"
"The first quarter of this debut novel is a lovely, poetic tale. . . . The last half is entirely bonkers and totally unexpected. Read it with the lights on."--"The New Republic"
"Seductive . . . extraordinarily polished . . . [Owen] packs many surprises into her tale, making it a book for readers to lose themselves in."--"Publishers Weekly "(starred review)
"A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist."--Kate Atkinson, bestselling author of "Life After Life "and "Case Histories"
"A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre . . . As soon as you have breathed with relief, much worse horrors begin. It's a skilled, assured performance, and it's hard to believe it is a first novel."--Hilary Mantel, bestselling author of "Wolf Hall "and" Bring Up the Bodies"
"Ambitious, elegant, atmospheric, and often deeply poignant, "The Quick" is a seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination. This is a book to savor."--Tana French, bestselling author of "In the Woods" and "Broken Harbor
"
"An intricate, sinister epic . . . an impressive feat . . . Owen proves a master at anticipating readers' thoughts about future happenings and then crumbling them into dust. Her world building is exceptional, and readers will simultaneously embrace and shrink from the atmosphere's elegant ghastliness."--"Booklist"
"The book's energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the 'unputdownable' novel."--"The Economist
"
"An elegantly written gothic epic . . . Owen's soaring imagination and her light-handed take on magic save this story from being either obvious or boring. . . . The journey from one genre to another is satisfying and surprisingly fresh."--"Kirkus Reviews
"
"An intriguing blend of historical, gothic, and supernatural fiction . . . ["The Quick "features] wonderful atmosph
show more

About Lauren Owen

Lauren Owen was born in 1985. She studied at Oxford University and the University of East Anglia, where she received the 2009 Curtis Brown Prize for the best fiction dissertation. "The Quick" is her first novel. She lives in Northern England.
show more

Rating details

8,546 ratings
3.24 out of 5 stars
5 12% (991)
4 29% (2,521)
3 37% (3,126)
2 16% (1,397)
1 6% (511)

Our customer reviews

The Quick is the debut novel by author Lauren Owen. It is the story of brother and sister James and Charlotte in an 1800s London setting and the story of what happens when James disappears one day. The book goes in a direction I did not expect all. The story is not for me, but based on the writing, I look forward to seeing what Lauren Owen writes next. Read my complete review at: http://www.memoriesfrombooks.com/2014/06/the-quick-novel.html *** Reviewed for GoodReads First Reads program ***show more
by Nada A.
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X