Q: A Novel

Q: A Novel

3.2 (1,158 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


"A philosophical, witty, wonderful, and altogether magical love story."
--M.J. Rose, author of The Hypnotist

"Amiably outrageous....Mandery is a worthy son of those great writers of the 1970s, Vonnegut, Barthelme, and Barth."
--Joseph Skibell, author of A Curable Romantic

"I've never read anything like it and enjoyed every minute of it!"
--Jessica Anya Blau, author of Drinking Closer to Home

Q: A (Timeless) Love Story is a smart, romantic, and funny novel about tender and requited love, a wonderfully original literary feat from Evan Mandery, a rapidly rising fiction star. Taking the classic love story and turning it on its head, Mandery brilliantly blends outrageous humor, existential philosophy, and heartbreaking angst while offering a wealth of satisfying surprises. Funny and wise, a magical tale of a man obsessed yet unable to allow himself the fulfillment of a perfect romance with the one true love of his life, Q: A (Timeless) Love Story is a uniquely delightful work of fiction from one of the most exciting novelists currently on the literary scene.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 359 pages
  • 134.62 x 198.12 x 25.4mm | 340.19g
  • William Morrow & Company
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Original
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0062015834
  • 9780062015839
  • 630,958

Review quote

"[A] deeply funny, seriously smart novel, at times both romantic and pragmatic. Fans of Mark Kurlansky and Matthew Norman will appreciate Mandery's eloquently witty authorial voice....Q is a remarkably refreshing work, full of energy and eminently absorbing."--Booklist
show more

Back cover copy

"Q, Quentina Elizabeth Deveril, is the love of my life."

Shortly before his wedding, the unnamed hero of this uncommon romance is visited by a man who claims to be his future self and ominously admonishes him that he must not marry the love of his life, Q. At first the protagonist doubts this stranger, but in time he becomes convinced of the authenticity of the warning and leaves his fiancee. The resulting void in his life is impossible to fill. One after the other, future selves arrive urging him to marry someone else, divorce, attend law school, leave law school, travel, join a running club, stop running, study the guitar, the cello, Proust, Buddhism, and opera, and eliminate gluten from his diet. The only constants in this madcap quest for personal improvement are his love for his New York City home and for the irresistible Q.

A unique literary talent, Evan Mandery turns the classic story of transcendent love on its head, with an ending that will melt even the darkest heart.
show more

Review Text

"[A] delightful New York-infused novel .... A word to the tear prone: Don't attempt to read the ending in public." New York Times Book Review
show more

Rating details

1,158 ratings
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 13% (156)
4 28% (324)
3 33% (378)
2 18% (204)
1 8% (96)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X