Purpose : An Immigrant's Story

3.37 (180 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author) 

List price: US$15.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Purpose is Wyclef Jean's powerful story of a life rooted in struggle, soul-searching, art, and survival.

In his own voice the multi-platinum musician and producer shares everything, from his childhood in Haiti to his rise to the top of the American music scene. For the first time ever, Wyclef reveals the behind-the-scenes story of the Fugees, including his partnership with Lauryn Hill and Pras Michel, the details of their award-winning album The Score, and the solo career that followed.

For fans of early Wyclef efforts like The Carnival or later albums like From the Hut, To the Projects, To the Mansion--and for fans of books like Jay-Z's Decoded or Russell Simmons' Super Rich--Wyclef's Purpose is an inspiring, one-of-a-kind look at one of the world's most talented artists.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 250 pages
  • 142.24 x 220.98 x 22.86mm | 317.51g
  • It Books
  • United States
  • English
  • Plates, color; Plates, black and white
  • 0061966878
  • 9780061966873
  • 1,517,168

Review quote

Jean s passion for music, his fierce love for his family and for Lauryn Hill, his partner in the Fugees, and his deep and abiding devotion to his native country, Haiti, forcefully reach out and grab the reader. ----Publishers Weekly"
show more

Back cover copy

Multiplatinum musician, producer, and actor Wyclef Jean's revelation-filled memoir recounts his path to fame...from his impoverished childhood in Haiti to the bright lights of the world stage.

Son of a pastor and grandson of a Vodou priest, Wyclef Jean was nine years old when his family left the Haiti slums for New York. He lived first in Brooklyn's projects and then Newark, where his father converted a burnt-out funeral home into a house for his family and a church for his congregation. Struggling to fit in, Wyclef made his way by competing in "freestyle" rap battles at school, while singing in his father's choir and learning multiple instruments.

Within a few years, Wyclef catapulted to international renown with the Fugees. Here he details for the first time the inside story of the group's rise and fall and his tumultuous relationships with Pras and Lauryn Hill. Wyclef also looks back at his efforts to help rebuild his homeland after the catastrophic earthquake in 2010, and his exploratory bid for president of Haiti. Full of drama and humor, Purpose is the inspiring, incredible story of a revered musical icon.
show more

Rating details

180 ratings
3.37 out of 5 stars
5 13% (23)
4 30% (54)
3 42% (75)
2 13% (24)
1 2% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X