Pumpkinheads
30%
off

Pumpkinheads

4.29 (2,874 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by  , Contributions by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In Pumpkinheads, beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Rainbow Rowell and Eisner Award-winning artist Faith Erin Hicks have teamed up to create this tender and hilarious story about two irresistible teens discovering what it means to leave behind a place--and a person--with no regrets.

Deja and Josiah are seasonal best friends.

Every autumn, all through high school, they've worked together at the best pumpkin patch in the whole wide world. (Not many people know that the best pumpkin patch in the whole wide world is in Omaha, Nebraska, but it definitely is.) They say good-bye every Halloween, and they're reunited every September 1.

But this Halloween is different--Josiah and Deja are finally seniors, and this is their last season at the pumpkin patch. Their last shift together. Their last good-bye.

Josiah's ready to spend the whole night feeling melancholy about it. Deja isn't ready to let him. She's got a plan What if--instead of moping and the usual slinging lima beans down at the Succotash Hut--they went out with a bang? They could see all the sights! Taste all the snacks! And Josiah could finally talk to that cute girl he's been mooning over for three years . . .

What if their last shift was an adventure?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 224 pages
  • 155 x 218 x 18mm | 544g
  • New York
  • English
  • 125031285X
  • 9781250312853
  • 61,910

Review quote

"Pumpkinheads perfectly captures that feeling of the last night that's the start of the rest of your life."--Mariko Tamaki, Printz Honor-winning cocreator of This One Summer and Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me

"Fun, funny, and wise."--Gene Luen Yang, Printz and Eisner Award-winning author of American Born Chinese

"A sweet ode to friendship." --People Magazine

"[Pumpkinheads] is more than a story about a last evening at a beloved pumpkin patch; it is about being confident enough in a friendship to speak both challenge and truth -- even the truth that makes you feel vulnerable, but could set you on a new, rewarding path." --The New York Times

"A fall-tastic good time, brought to you from the best of the YA and graphic literature worlds."--Bustle

"Dreamy." --Entertainment Weekly

"Sure to be an Autumn favorite." --PopSugar

"Our advice is to read Pumpkinheads fast, then again slowly." --Refinery29

"A heartwarming, funny story filled with richness and complexity."--Kirkus, starred review

"There's something for everyone in this joyful, tender book. Fans of Rowell and Hicks will gobble up this graphic novel like it's Frito pie, and after just one nibble, newcomers will do the same--and ask for seconds." --School Library Journal, starred review

"Art by Hicks turns the sweetly witty dialogue by Rowell into a miniature autumn universe; precise, affectionate details will coax readers to revel in the cozy atmosphere." --Publisher's Weekly, starred review


"Expect this tender, sweet romance to be popular with a wide range of readers-- and let's hope this isn't the last graphic novel collaboration between Rowell and Hicks." --Horn Books, starred review

"This is a Hallmark movie in graphic-novel form, as sweet as a candied apple and as warm as a steaming cup of cider with two lovable and inevitably paired leads.... Have this ready when the fall sweaters come out and the crisp air arrives." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Rowell's one of the biggest names in YA; don't be surprised if readers who otherwise turn their nose up at comics seek this one out." --Booklist
show more

About Rainbow Rowell

Rainbow Rowell is the award-winning, No. 1 New York Times-bestselling author of Eleanor & Park, Carry On, Wayward Son, and more. She made her comics debut as the writer of Marvel's monthly Runaways series. Pumpkinheads is her first graphic novel. Rainbow lives and writes in Omaha, Nebraska, home of the world's best pumpkin patches.

Faith Erin Hicks is a writer and artist living in Vancouver, British Columbia. Her previous works include the Nameless City trilogy, Friends with Boys, The Last of Us: American Dreams (with Neil Druckmann), Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong (with Prudence Shen), and the Eisner Award-winning The Adventures of Superhero Girl. She can be found online!
show more

Rating details

2,874 ratings
4.29 out of 5 stars
5 49% (1,403)
4 37% (1,065)
3 10% (291)
2 2% (69)
1 2% (46)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X