A Psalm for Lost Girls
31%
off

A Psalm for Lost Girls

3.77 (222 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

I'll Give You the Sun meets True Detective in this brilliant YA debut about saints, sisters, and learning to let go. Tess da Costa is a saint--a hand-to-god, miracle-producing saint. At least that's what the people in her hometown of New Avon, Massachusetts, seem to believe. And when Tess suddenly and tragically passes away, her small city begins feverishly petitioning the Pope to make Tess's sainthood official. Tess's mother is ecstatic over the fervor, while her sister Callie, the one who knew Tess best, is disgusted--overcome with the feeling that her sister is being stolen from her all over again. The fervor for Tess's sainthood only grows when Ana Langone, a local girl who's been missing for six months, is found alive at the foot of one of Tess's shrines. It's the final straw for Callie. With the help of Tess's secret boyfriend Danny, Callie's determined to prove that Tess was something far more important than a saint; she was her sister, her best friend and a girl in love with a boy. But Callie's investigation uncovers much more than she bargained for--a hidden diary, old family secrets, and even the disturbing truth behind Ana's kidnapping. Told in alternating perspectives, A Psalm for Lost Girls is at once funny, creepy and soulful--an impressive debut from a rising literary star.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 32mm | 521.63g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Putnam Adult
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0399545255
  • 9780399545252
  • 927,589

Review quote

Praise for A Psalm for Lost Girls A Barnes & Noble Most Anticipated YA Debut of 2017A Bustle Most Anticipated Young Adult Debut of 2017A Spring 2017 Amazon Pick - Spring's Best Young Adult Fictionâ "[A] gripping story of loss and grace. . . . Richly and evocatively written, Bayerl's story is ideal for fans of Jandy Nelson and Melina Marchetta."--Publishers Weekly, starred review â "Fans of realistic fiction, mystery, or crime thrillers will find themselves at home in this spectacular debut. . . . A compelling must-have for YA collections."--School Library Journal, starred review "Now and then comes a book that is able to put it all together: real and compelling characters, page-turning suspense, brilliant writing. This is one of those books."--Francisco X. Stork, award-winning author of Marcelo in the Real World and The Last Summer of the Death Warriors "[P]acked with vivid cultural scenery, this ambitious debut offers readers a journey worth taking."--Kirkus Reviews "Many issues are presented in Bayerl's novel--mental illness, modern sainthood, sisterly love, family dynamics, romance--giving it wide appeal among readers."--VOYA "Ideal for fans of both mysteries and character-driven novels."--Booklist "Lyrical and nuanced . . . Bayerl's debut will appeal to a wide range of readers. . . . A haunting tale of family, first love, and miracles."--RT Book Reviews "A mystery, a thriller, and a prayer, gripping and anguished, told in the poignant weaving of voices from beyond and voices left behind."--Julie Berry, Printz Honor author of The Passion of Dolssashow more

About Katie Bayerl

When Katie Bayerl isn't penning stories, she coaches teens and nonprofits to tell theirs. She holds an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts and has taught creative writing in schools and a variety of community settings. Katie has an incurable obsession with saints, bittersweet ballads, and murder. A Psalm for Lost Girls is her first novel.show more

Rating details

222 ratings
3.77 out of 5 stars
5 30% (66)
4 32% (72)
3 27% (60)
2 8% (17)
1 3% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X