Prophecy
43%
off

Prophecy

3.94 (4,288 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A Tudor thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, renegade monk, philosopher and heretic, for fans of C. J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose



Autumn, 1583. The skies above England harbour dark omens
...



An astrological phenomenon heralds the dawn of a new age and a young maid of honour is murdered, occult symbols carved into her flesh.



The court's loyalties are tested. Its murderous secrets exposed.



When Mary Stuart's supporters scheme to usurp Queen Elizabeth's throne, spymaster Francis Walsingham calls on Giordano Bruno to infiltrate the plotters. The proof he seeks is within his grasp. But the young woman's murder could point to an even more sinister truth ...


Heretic, maverick, charmer: Giordano Bruno is always on his guard. Never more so than when working for Queen Elizabeth and her spymaster - for this man of letters is now an agent of danger and intrigue.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 28mm | 310g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0007317735
  • 9780007317738
  • 89,893

Review quote

* `Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins' Daily Telegraph


* `Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please' The Times


* `Parris's plot is well crafted and full of surprises, an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth's security' TLS


* `Tense and lively, a welcome follow-up to Heresy, fully living up to its predecessor's promise' Daily Mail


Praise for Heresy:


* `Heresy has everything - intrigue, mystery, excellent history and haunting sense of place. The beginning of a wonderful new detective series' Kate Mosse


* `Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' Conn Iggulden (bestselling author of Bones of the Hills and The Dangerous Book for Boys)


* `Heresy is a riveting read. Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists, S. J. Parris has created a character in Giordano Bruno that will endure. A true rival to C. J. Sansom' Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)


* 'Parris paces her yarn perfectly' Daily Telegraph
show more

About S. J. Parris

No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of the author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student at Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.


Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.
show more

Rating details

4,288 ratings
3.94 out of 5 stars
5 28% (1,189)
4 45% (1,925)
3 22% (950)
2 4% (176)
1 1% (48)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X