Prophecy

Prophecy

3.94 (4,782 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series
The second book in S. J. Parris's bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I



Autumn, 1583. Under Elizabeth's rule, loyalty is bought with blood...



An astrological phenomenon heralds the dawn of a new age and Queen Elizabeth's throne is in peril. As Mary Stuart's supporters scheme to usurp the rightful monarch, a young maid of honour is murdered, occult symbols carved into her flesh.


The Queen's spymaster, Francis Walsingham, calls on maverick agent Giordano Bruno to infiltrate the plotters and secure the evidence that will condemn them to death.


Bruno is cunning, but so are his enemies. His identity could be exposed at any moment. The proof he seeks is within his grasp. But the young woman's murder could point to an even more sinister truth...


Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

Praise for S. J. Parris



'A delicious blend of history and thriller' The Times


'An omnipresent sense of danger' Daily Mail


'Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death' Sunday Times


'Pacy, intricate, and thrilling' Observer


'Vivid, sprawling ... Well-crafted, exuberant' Financial Times


'Impossible to resist' Daily Telegraph


'Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes' Stuart MacBride


'It has everything - intrigue, mystery and excellent history' Kate Mosse


'The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' Conn Iggulden


'A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I' Andrew Taylor


"Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists' Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 448 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 28mm | 310g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0007317735
  • 9780007317738
  • 97,394

Review quote

* 'Impossible to resist ... Parris creates a convincing sense of the past, woven with so much intrigue that the head fairly spins' Daily Telegraph


* 'Parris writes with confident ease of Tudor London ... The dialogue balances nicely on a tightrope of period phrases and cut-to-the-chase colloquialisms. More, please' The Times


* 'Parris's plot is well crafted and full of surprises, an imaginatively satisfying addition to the many real intrigues surrounding the imprisoned Mary Stuart and the threats to Elizabeth's security' TLS


* 'Tense and lively, a welcome follow-up to Heresy, fully living up to its predecessor's promise' Daily Mail


Praise for Heresy:


* 'Heresy has everything - intrigue, mystery, excellent history and haunting sense of place. The beginning of a wonderful new detective series' Kate Mosse


* 'Fascinating ... The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping' Conn Iggulden (bestselling author of Bones of the Hills and The Dangerous Book for Boys)


* 'Heresy is a riveting read. Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists, S. J. Parris has created a character in Giordano Bruno that will endure. A true rival to C. J. Sansom' Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)


* 'Parris paces her yarn perfectly' Daily Telegraph
show more

About S. J. Parris

No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller S. J. Parris is the pseudonym of the author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student at Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno.


Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines, as well as radio and television. She has also written the contemporary psychological thriller While You Sleep under her own name. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.
show more

Rating details

4,782 ratings
3.94 out of 5 stars
5 28% (1,334)
4 45% (2,156)
3 22% (1,060)
2 4% (180)
1 1% (52)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X