Private Investigations (Bob Skinner series, Book 26)
31%
off

Private Investigations (Bob Skinner series, Book 26) : A gritty Edinburgh mystery of crime and murder

4.28 (367 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Private Investigations is Quintin Jardine's twenty-sixth Bob Skinner mystery that sees the Edinburgh sleuth plunged into a gruelling new case in which no score will go unsettled. A thrilling mystery for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

Former Chief Constable Bob Skinner has uncovered his fair share of shocking crime scenes over his thirty-year career. But none could prepare him for the sight he finds stowed in the back of a stolen car that collides with his on the outskirts of Edinburgh.

As his former colleagues investigate, Skinner takes on an unusual commission of his own.

The body count rises, motives appear, the hunt goes global, and potential conflicts surface. In his new guise, is Skinner is on the side of the angels...or working against them?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 128 x 198 x 32mm | 360g
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1472205685
  • 9781472205681
  • 318,604

Review quote

Compelling stuff * Oxford Times * More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best * Stirling Observer * Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame * Northern Echo * If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series * Radio Times * Well constructed, fast-paced, Jardine's narrative has many an ingenious twist and turn * Observer * Remarkably assured, raw-boned, a tour de force * New York Times * Very engaging as well as ingenious, and the unraveling of the mystery is excellently done -- Allan Massie * Scotsman * Deplorably readable * Guardian * Praise for Quintin Jardine: 'If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery' * Glasgow Herald *
show more

About Quintin Jardine

Quintin Jardine was born once upon a time in the West - of Scotland rather than America, but still he grew to manhood as a massive Sergio Leone fan. On the way there he was educated, against his will, in Glasgow, where he ditched a token attempt to study law for more interesting careers in journalism, government propaganda, and political spin-doctoring. After a close call with the Brighton Bomb in 1984, he moved into the even riskier world of media relations consultancy, before realising that all along he had been training to become a crime writer. Now, forty novels later, he never looks back.

Along the way he has created/acquired an extended family in Scotland and Spain. Everything he does is for them.

He can be tracked down through his blog: http://quintinjardine.me
show more

Rating details

367 ratings
4.28 out of 5 stars
5 50% (185)
4 33% (120)
3 13% (48)
2 2% (9)
1 1% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X