The Prisoner of Heaven

The Prisoner of Heaven

4.06 (73,268 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-15 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


The third in the cycle of novels that began with THE SHADOW OF THE WIND and THE ANGEL'S GAME. THE PRISONER OF HEAVEN returns to the world of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books and the Sempere & Sons bookshop. It begins just before Christmas in Barcelona in 1957, one year after Daniel and Bea from THE SHADOW OF THE WIND have married. They now have a son, Julian, and are living with Daniel's father at Sempere & Sons. Fermin still works with them and is busy preparing for his wedding to Bernarda in the New Year. However something appears to be bothering him. Daniel is alone in the shop one morning when a mysterious figure with a pronounced limp enters. He spots one of their most precious volumes that is kept locked in a glass cabinet, a beautiful and unique illustrated edition of The Count of Monte Cristo. Despite the fact that the stranger seems to care little for books, he wants to buy this expensive edition. Then, to Daniel's surprise, the man inscribes the book with the words 'To Fermin Romero de Torres, who came back from the dead and who holds the key to the future'. This visit leads back to a story of imprisonment, betrayal and the return of a deadly rival.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 158 x 242 x 27mm | 520g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0297868098
  • 9780297868095
  • 34,175

Review quote

Zafon combines sincere engagement with genre tradition, with clever touches of the literary post-modern...This is explicitly, and joyously, a book about books, about what can be learned from them , and what is lost when they are lost. -- Steven Poole THE GUARDIAN 20120630 The Prisoner of Heaven is the third part of the story and, like the first, is narrated by Daniel Sempere. But it too contains stories within stories, and the real narrative here belings to the irrpressible Fermin Romero de Torress...Zafon's characters and dialogue are as lively and full-blooded as ever. -- Stephanie Merritt THE OBSERVER 20120708
show more

About Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Carlos Ruiz Zafon is the author of six novels, including the international phenomenon The Shadow of the Wind, and The Angel's Game. His work has been published in more than forty different languages, and honoured with numerous international awards. He divides his time between Barcelona, Spain, and Los Angeles, California.
show more

Rating details

73,268 ratings
4.06 out of 5 stars
5 35% (25,485)
4 41% (30,214)
3 20% (14,713)
2 3% (2,490)
1 0% (366)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X