Priest of Bones
10%
off

Priest of Bones

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

106 days to go
Pre-order Add to wishlist

Description

'Charismatic and very more-ish' - Mark Lawrence, bestselling author of Red Sister

'Sixty-five thousand battle-shocked, trained killers came home to no jobs, no food and the plague. What did Her Majesty think was going to happen?'

Tomas Piety takes his duties seriously: as a soldier, as a priest of Our Lady of Eternal Sorrows and as a leader of men. He has come home from the war to reclaim his family business, to provide for his men and to ensure the horrors of Abingon can never happen in Ellinburg.

But things have changed: his crime empire has been stolen and the people of Ellinburg - his people - have run out of food and hope and places to hide. With his best friend Bloody Anne, his war-damaged brother Jochan and his new gang, the Pious Men, Tomas sets out to reclaim what was his.
And as Tomas is dragged into a web of political intrigue by the sinister Queen's Men, forced to work against the foreign infiltrators lurking in the backstreet taverns, brothels and gambling dens of the Stink, one thing becomes clear.

The war has just begun.

'Fans of Daniel Polansky, Mark Lawrence or, dare I say, Blackwing will most appreciate this book' - Ed McDonald, author of Blackwing
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 153 x 234mm
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1787473473
  • 9781787473478

Review quote

The plot is intriguing and the pace is fast. There is plenty of action, in fact, frankly, never a dull moment * The Speculative Herald on Drake * A gripping tale full of action, mystery and death * Rambles, Writings and Amusing Musings on Drake * A grimy, morally ambiguous tale, packed full of action and ideas. It's blunt and brutal and very compelling * Geek Dad on Drake * The plot whips along at a cracking pace and there are enough twists and turns to keep any reader more than happy * The Eloquent Page on Dominion * Snarky, pacy and hellishly fun. Don Drake is just the sort of hero, with just the sort of life, to make you feel good about yourself. Dark and delightful, like a naughty treat, this is a rollicking story * Francis Knight, author of Fade to Black on Dominion * Peter McLean continues to knock it out of the park. 5 stars * San Franciso Book Review on Damnation * This is a cracking book that is part of a cracking series. Highly recommended * The Eloquent Page on Damnation * I found myself immediately sucked in to the grim and very dark world McLean has created . . . I loved this book and can't wait for the next one. * Sue Tingey, author of Marked * Peaky Blinders with swords -- Joel Cunningham * Barnes and Noble * Fresh and compelling . . . Mashing together soldiers, gangsters, magic and war into a heady mix that is a hulking big brother to The Lies of Locke Lamora, this is the first in an unmissable series * Anna Stephens, author of Godblind * Priest of Bones can be effectively summarised as "gangsters in fantasyville". McLean manages to combine two of my most liked elements in fantasy - a quick-moving plot and characters with realistic relationships. Fans of Daniel Polansky, Mark Lawrence or, dare I say, Blackwing will most appreciate this book * Ed McDonald, author of Blackwing * A charismatic and very more-ish book with solid prose and a strong voice. Priest of Bones is a story of organised crime with shades of the Godfather. It sounds grim and dark . . . and it is . . . but our priest of bones is quite the humanitarian for a ruthless crime lord. With high-tempo action it's just very fun to read * Mark Lawrence, author of Red Sister *
show more

About Peter McLean

Peter McLean was born near London and grew up in the Norwich alternative scene, alternating dingy nightclubs with studying martial arts and practical magic before settling to a career in corporate IT. His first novels, the Burned Man series, are noir urban fantasy.
show more