Pretty Girl-13
24%
off

Pretty Girl-13

3.99 (5,373 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Reminiscent of the Elizabeth Smart case, Pretty Girl-13 is a disturbing and powerful psychological thriller about a girl who must piece together the mystery of her kidnapping and abuse. Perfect for fans of books like Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why, Elizabeth Scott's Living Dead Girl, and Caroline B. Cooney's The Face on the Milk Carton series, Pretty Girl-13 is a haunting yet ultimately uplifting story about the healing power of courage, hope, and love. Angie Chapman was thirteen years old when she ventured into the woods on a Girl Scout camping trip. Now she's returned home . . . only to find that it's three years later and she's sixteen--or at least that's what everyone tells her. What happened to the last three years of her life? With a tremendous amount of courage, Angie embarks on a journey to discover the fragments of her lost time. She eventually discovers a terrifying secret and must decide: what do you do when you remember things you wish you could forget?show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 350 pages
  • 139.7 x 210.82 x 33.02mm | 408.23g
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062127373
  • 9780062127372
  • 1,281,534

Review quote

Readers...will certainly find themselves emotionally involved in [Angie s] story frombeginning to end. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"show more

Back cover copy

Pretty girl 13 when she went missing lost to her family to her friends to the world found but still missing her self In Liz Coley's alarming and fascinating psychological mystery, sixteen-year-old Angie Chapman must piece together the story of her kidnapping and abuse. Pretty Girl-13 is a disturbing--and ultimately empowering--page-turner about accepting our whole selves, and the healing power of courage, hope, and love.show more

Review Text

Pretty girl13 when shewent missinglostto her familyto her friendsto the worldfoundbut...show more

Rating details

5,373 ratings
3.99 out of 5 stars
5 38% (2,041)
4 34% (1,827)
3 20% (1,079)
2 6% (302)
1 2% (124)

Our customer reviews

Liz did her research and did it well. Especially during chapter 2 where she's being examined. Her writing is very easy, very fluid and you feel like you've been transported in Angie's world, forgetting about your reality. You're literally dropped into the mystery surrounding Angie and at first you're just as disoriented as her. There are different clues as to the horrors that could come to be. Now I don't know about you, but when there's a problem to solve, my mind will fast forward with a million different scenarios, starting small then enlarging into one big mountain of a mole hill. It just so happened that one of my most extreme predictions turned out to be the biggest twist in the book. There was emphasis being portrayed and when that happens you know something is up. I'm still a little shocked about it. I know this happens to people all over the world, but to almost become a shadow in Angie's life was terribly traumatic. Kate is one of those wonderful best friends with a good head on her shoulders and that's exactly what Angie needs. The prologue in the beginning is frightening, terrifying and something most girls should never ever experience. Being told in second point of view is unique and I felt the hairs on my body rise when reading it. I'm thoroughly fascinated with alters. Having it displayed in a book like this makes it even better. Multiple personalities all living in one body, I just can't understand or fathom how crowded it would be to live that. I found it fascinating having her mind still be 13 years old, while her physical body is 16. Psychology plays a big part in Pretty Girl-13. Liz describes it in such a simple and easy way that you have no trouble understanding it at all. If anyone noticed the title also states PG-13, because the issues in this book is very adult and psychologically damaging. I can't stop thinking about this book either, it gave me major book hangover.show more
by Giselle SM
I've been interested in crime stories since I was a kid (too much Law & Order!) and I've been on a Criminal Minds kick recently so it was unsurprising when I picked up Pretty Girl-13 after I finished writing my last exam and couldn't put it down until I was finished. As hard as these types of stories can be to read, I love to read them because I find they really challenge me both as a reader and as a person. It forces you to empathize (or at least sympathize) with a character, as you experience the same struggles they do in the book. But I had a couple issues with Pretty Girl-13 by the time I finished it. Reasons to Read: 1. An inside look at life post-abduction: What happens to Angie is horrific, but I appreciated learning about it from her perspective rather than anyone else's. I tend to read about these horrific events objectively, but I think it's equally important to consider what happens after a girl who's been missing for 3 years comes back home... from her perspective. Because while it's happy on one hand, it's also extraordinarily difficult on the other. She comes back into her life, but everything has changed so much it's nearly unrecognizable. 2. The story of a girl with exceptional strength: Pretty Girl-13 is truly a testament to the strength possessed by those who undergo such horrific circumstances. It's incredible to see the way Angie did her best to protect herself, and the lengths she'll go to protect others as well. 3. Mysteries & plot twists: The story in this book is different because Angie doesn't remember the past 3 years of her life - any of the time she spent abducted and held captive. So the difficulty for her is to try and put together exactly what happened to her and if she even wants to remember. There are plenty of surprises and secrets to be uncovered throughout it all which makes for a thrilling read. But while Pretty Girl-13 started off so well, I didn't feel like it maximized the potential it had. If anything, it seemed to work against the overall message of the story. What happens to Angie is horrific and positively terrible. But by the end, it felt like she was just having every possible unspeakable thing thrown at her to make it as shocking as possible. Many of the twists didn't seem to serve the overall purpose of the story, but just for shock value. I know that stories like this aren't entirely imagined and they really do happen in real life. But some of these weren't tied in to the story well enough and really felt gratuitous. And when I finished, I had to think over many aspects of the book. And I realized how many plot holes there were - there are some obvious secrets that should have been uncovered earlier on in the story, because others were in a perfect position to discover it and failed to, even when it would have been obvious to them. (I don't want to spoil anything, so I'm forcing myself to be vague.) There were times when I didn't find Angie's responses to be plausible either, because of how easily she is able to move on after recalling various events that happened in her life. So overall, while I liked the book and its message, it felt lacking in retrospect when I had really hoped for more and it seemed like I could expect that much of Pretty Girl-13. Hardcover purchased personally.show more
by Brenna Staats
I am immediately drawn to anything with memory loss so from the moment I read the blurb I knew that I wanted to read Pretty Girl-13. What I found inside the pages was more than I expected and crafted with brilliance. There is suspense, mystery, and a strong emotional pull. I was sympathetic to Angie, and right there with her on the edge of my seat wanting to know what had happened to her in the lost years of her life, and like her, totally unprepared for each and every twist. I wasn't prepared for how much I would care about her alters, the ones who dealt with the abuse and helped her survive, the ones who lived those lost years for Angie. They each had their personalities and things that they added to the story. One in particular I sort of saw coming, but was blindsided all the same. Watching Angie cope with learning what happened to her, as well as those locked up inside her, that are slowly giving their stories, and trying to figure out if these alters, the ones who know what happened and helped her survive, if they are wanting more of her than she has to give. Besides Angie and her alters, I also really enjoyed Kate, a friend of hers in the book. Kate had so much to offer, and I am glad that Angie saw past what everyone deemed was a bad decision on Kate's part, but really was selfless and brave. She also introduced Angie to Abraim, who was such a sweet and amazing guy. I love how he was written and how considerate and understanding he was. The ending is just as emotional as the rest of the book. I couldn't believe how much I saw Angie grow and change in the short amount of time I spent with her, and I was so proud of the decisions she ended up making. Bottom line: Suspenseful and emotional story with a main character who learns about who she really is and fills in the pieces from her three missing years of her life.show more
by Brandi Kosiner (Brandi Breathes Books)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X