Pretty Crooked
24%
off

Pretty Crooked

3.58 (2,112 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Pretty Little Liars meets Heist Society in this exciting and flirtatious book about a high school girl whose innocent game of Robin Hood spirals way out of control. At first, Willa's plan to take from the rich kids at Valley Prep and give to the poor ones seems easy. Her daredevil stunts are thrilling. And keeping secrets helps her play hard-to-get with Aidan Murphy, Prep's most notorious bad boy. But when the cops start investigating and her friends begin to seek revenge, Willa realizes her walk on the wild side is just beginning. Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Ally Carter, and Sara Shepard will love the feisty heroine, clever heists, and playful romance in this series.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 360 pages
  • 147.32 x 210.82 x 33.02mm | 430.91g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062066064
  • 9780062066060
  • 913,553

Review quote

Tantalizing. For fans of Sara Shepard s Pretty Little Liars books. --ALA Booklist"show more

Back cover copy

Willa's secret plan seems all too simple. Take from the rich kids at valley prep and give to the poor ones. Yet Willa's turn as Robin Hood at her new high school is anything but. Bilking her "friends"--known to everyone as the Glitterati--without them suspecting a thing is far from easy. Learning how to break into lockers and Beemers is as hard as she'd thought it would be. Delivering care packages to the scholarship girls, who are bullied just for being different, is more fun than she'd expected. The complication Willa didn't expect, though, is Aidan Murphy, VP's most notorious ace-degenerate. His mere existence is distracting Willa from what matters most to her--evening the social playing field between the haves and have-nots. There's no time for flirting, especially with conceited trust-funders like Aidan. But when the cops start investigating the string of thefts at Valley Prep and the Glitterati begin to seek revenge, could Aidan wind up being the person that Willa trusts most? Elisa Ludwig's Pretty Crooked is the first book in an adventurous teen caper series filled with mystery, humor, and heart.show more

Rating details

2,112 ratings
3.58 out of 5 stars
5 26% (552)
4 29% (603)
3 29% (612)
2 11% (228)
1 6% (117)

Our customer reviews

Also reviewed on my blog, The Vintage Bookworm. (http://www.vintagebookworm.blogspot.com) When I first read the summary for this 2012 debut, I knew it was going to be an enjoyable read. It's just one of those books you know right of the bat is going to be fun. And it was. It took me a while to read it, nearly two weeks, but that was because I was in a rut. I just didn't want to read at all, but once I did I'd get through some pages pretty fast because it was funny at times and pretty snarky. Willa was a great character, she lost her way a little bit toward the middle, but fixed it by helping those who didn't have much money. There is your classic mean girls in this book, the "Glitterati", they make it hell for those who are on scholarships and don't have the means to dress up to their standards. Willa thought there was something that needed to be done about that. So she turns into a modern day Robin Hood. With the help of a new friend, she learns how to pick pocket and break into lockers and cars and eventually houses and steal things from those who have enough money to buy a million more of the things she stole. When she was on a "job" it really made my heart beat. My heart was pounding so hard thinking she was about to get caught. And then I'd exhale my held breath in relief. Other than Willa, my other favorite characters were Cherise, Tre, and Aidan. Especially Aidan, he was so funny and all of his scenes made me smile. He's pretty different than the other rich kids. I can't decide who I want Willa to be with, though. I really like Aidan and she does too, but theres parts of me that see Tre and I'm like, "Noo Willa!". Maybe we'll see in the next book what will happen. Overall, this is just an overall enjoyable book. The writing flowed well and I'd fly through pages when I was reading. This is definitely a debut to read this year! And a new author to add to my watch list. If you like Robin Hood and fashion, you should definitely give this book a try!show more
by Amanda
There were some things I liked and didn't like in Pretty Crooked. It was an interesting plot idea, a modern day Robin Hood. I don't think Willa came across as noble as Robin Hood though which maybe wasn't the intent or moral of the story anyway. Robin Hood was back in Medieval Times right? He was kind of like a police office in a corrupt monarchy. Willa, on the other hand, is a modern teenager trying to give retribution to girls that definitely deserve it, but breaking the law really isn't the best way to do it. Willa is interesting. I'm not sure if I like her that much. She makes some really dumb decisions. She's been through a lot so it's understandable that she's having a hard time. Willa and her single mom had a good relationship until they moved to the rich neighborhood, and her mom got secretive and busy. The biggest pull for me to read the next book in the series is to find out more about her mom's secrets, very intriguing. This book brings up the modern issue of cyber bullying. This definitely wasn't a problem in my day. (Which, by the way, I'm not ancient or anything. My 10 year reunion is coming up soon. Hmm maybe that does make me ancient.) I'm sure this happens in high schools all over, and it's truly appalling. Willa definitely had her heart in the right place when she tried to help these girls being bullied for being the scholarship kids at a rich private school. Content Ratings: Sexual Content: moderate Language: moderate Violence: none Other: cyber bullying, teen party drinking, teen drinking and drivingshow more
by Clean Teen Fiction
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X