Praetorian (Eagles of the Empire 11)
63%
off

Praetorian (Eagles of the Empire 11)

4.23 (2,687 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

PRAETORIAN is the gripping eleventh novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. The city of Rome in AD 51 is a dangerous place. Treachery lurks on every corner, and a shadowy Republican movement, 'the Liberators', has spread its tentacles wide. It is feared that the heart of the latest plot lies in the ranks of the Praetorian Guard. Uncertain of whom he can trust, the Imperial Secretary Narcissus summons to Rome two courageous men guaranteed to be loyal to the grave: army veterans Prefect Cato and Centurion Macro. Tasked with infiltrating the Guard, Cato and Macro face a daunting test to win the trust of their fellow soldiers. No sooner have they begun to unearth the details of the Liberators' devious plan than disaster strikes: an old enemy who could identify them, with deadly consequences, makes an unexpected appearance. Now they face a race against time to save their own lives before they can unmask the mastermind behind the Liberators...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 164 x 197 x 27mm | 320g
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Maps
  • 075535379X
  • 9780755353798
  • 78,357

Review quote

[Simon Scarrow] blends together historical facts and characters to create a book that simply cannot be put down... Highly recommended * Historical Novels Review * Gripping * Sunday Times * Rollicking good fun * Mail on Sunday * Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best * Independent * A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff * Good Book Guide * A new book in Simon Scarrow's series about the Roman army is always a joy * The Times * Gripping... ferocious and compelling, it is a story of blood, romance and sacrifice * Daily Express * Praise for Simon Scarrow: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read' -- Bernard Cornwell
show more

About Simon Scarrow

Simon Scarrow is a Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling author. His many successful books include his Eagles of the Empire novels featuring Roman soldiers Macro and Cato, most recently INVICTUS, BRITANNIA, BROTHERS IN BLOOD and THE BLOOD CROWS, as well as HEARTS OF STONE, set in Greece during the Second World War, SWORD AND SCIMITAR, about the 1565 Siege of Malta, and a quartet about Wellington and Napoleon including the No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller THE FIELDS OF DEATH. He is the author with T. J. Andrews of the gladiator novels ARENA and INVADER.

Find out more at www.simonscarrow.co.uk and on Facebook /officialsimonscarrow and Twitter @SimonScarrow
show more

Rating details

2,687 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 43% (1,167)
4 39% (1,046)
3 15% (416)
2 2% (47)
1 0% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X