A Possibility of Whales
22%
off

A Possibility of Whales

3.69 (146 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Twelve-year-old Natalia Rose Baleine Gallagher loves possibilities: the possibility that she'll see whales on the beach near her new home, the possibility that the trans-gender boy she just met will become her new best friend, the possibility that the paparazzi hounding her celebrity father won't force them to move again. Most of all, Nat dreams of the possibility that her faraway mother misses her, loves her, and is just waiting for Nat to find her. But how can Nat find her mother if she doesn't even know who she is? She abandoned Nat as a baby, and Nat's dad refuses to talk about it. Nat knows she shouldn't need a mom, but she still feels like something is missing, and her questions lead heron a journey of self-discovery that will change her life forever. In her unique, poignant narrative voice, Karen Rivers tells a heartwarming story about family, friendship, and growing up, perfect for readers of Katherine Applegate and Rebecca Stead.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 27.94mm | 362.87g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 161620723X
  • 9781616207236
  • 1,185,466

Review quote

"A remarkable novel . . . Nat's witty and vulnerable voice drives the novel, from her wry observations about contemporary celebrity culture to the thoughtful collection of untranslatable words that help define her world. The chapters that center Harry's perspective are just as strong, emphasizing his desire to be seen and understood, not as an abstract exemplar of a transgender child but as an individual. The novel avoids offering simple solutions for questions of identity and adolescence, instead reveling in life's nuance and complexity. Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and Counting by Sevens, Rivers' latest work brings an improbable combination of elements together in an unforgettable story that is quirky and wise."
--School Library Journal

"Charming and sweet as it explores personal identity, life changes, love, and, of course, whales . . . Nat's story of self-discovery is sure to inspire anyone searching for their place in the world."
--Foreword Reviews

"A coming-of-age story that's both relatable and moving . . . [Rivers] strikes the perfect tone of innocence, confusion and a touch of obstinance with Natalia, as she wades into the wild world of growing up . . . a bright, optimistic book that touches on growing up, celebrity visibility, transgender topics and more -- refreshingly, and without being too weighed down with any insurmountably sombre notes."
--Vancouver Sun
show more

About Karen Rivers

Karen Rivers's books have been nominated for a wide range of literary awards and have been published in multiple languages. When she's not writing, reading, or visiting schools, she can usu-ally be found hiking in the forest that flourishes behind her tiny old house in Victoria, British Columbia, where she lives with her two kids, two dogs, and two birds. Find her online at karenrivers.com and on Twitter: @karenrivers.
show more

Rating details

146 ratings
3.69 out of 5 stars
5 26% (38)
4 26% (38)
3 41% (60)
2 5% (8)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X