The Portable Arthur Miller

The Portable Arthur Miller

4.19 (230 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Introduction by  , Introduction by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


This classic collection the only one-volume selection of Arthur Miller's work available presents a rich cross section of writing from one of our most influential and humane playwrights, containing in full his masterpieces The Crucible and Death of a Salesman. This essential collection also includes the complete texts of After the Fall, The American Clock, The Last Yankee, and Broken Glass, winner of the Olivier Award for Best Play of 1995, as well as excerpts from Miller's memoir Timebends. An essay by Harold Clurman and Christopher Bigsby's introduction discuss Miller's standing as one of the greatest American playwrights of all time and his importance to twentieth-century literature.
For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust theseries to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-datetranslations by award-winning translators."
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 624 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 30mm | 458.13g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Revised
  • Revised ed.
  • 0142437557
  • 9780142437551
  • 444,327

About Arthur Miller

Arthur Miller (1915-2005)was born in New York City and studied at the University of Michigan. His plays includeAll My Sons(1947), Death of a Salesman(1949), The Crucible(1953), A View from the BridgeandA Memory of Two Mondays(1955), After the Fall(1963), Incident at Vichy(1964), The Price(1968), The Creation of the World and Other Business(1972) andThe American Clock(1980). He also wrote two novels, Focus(1945), andThe Misfits, which was filmed in 1960, and the text forIn Russia(1969), Chinese Encounters(1979), andIn the Country(1977), three books of photographs by his wife, Inge Morath. His later work included a memoir, Timebends(1987); the playsThe Ride Down Mt. Morgan(1991), The Last Yankee(1993), Broken Glass(1994), andMr. Peter's Connections(1999);Echoes Down the Corridor: Collected Essays, 1944 2000; andOn Politics and the Art of Acting(2001). He twice won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, and in 1949 he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize. Miller was the recipient of the National Book Foundation s 2001 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, the Prince of Asturias Award for Letters in 2002, and the Jerusalem Prize in 2003.
Christopher W. E. Bigsbyis a professor of American Studies at the University of East Anglia. He edited the Penguin Classics editions of Miller'sThe Crucible, Death of a Salesman, andAll My Sons."
show more

Table of contents

The Portable Arthur MillerBiographical Notes
Introduction to the Original Edition by Harold Clurman
Introduction to the Revised Edition by Christopher Bigsby
Timebends (excerpt from the autobiography) (1987)
The Golden Years (excerpt from a play) (1939-1940)
Death of a Salesman (1949)
The Crucible (1953)
After the Fall (1964)
The American Clock (1980)
The Last Yankee (1993)
Broken Glass (1994)
Timebends (excerpt from the autobiography)
show more

Rating details

230 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 43% (99)
4 39% (89)
3 14% (33)
2 2% (5)
1 2% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X