Polymath of the Baroque

Polymath of the Baroque : Agostino Steffani and His Music

  • Electronic book text
By (author) 

List price: US$74.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This is the first book to consider all aspects of the life of Agostino Steffani (1654-1728), a composer, diplomat, and bishop. A remarkable figure of the late 17th and early 18th century Europe, Steffani began his career as a composer, musician, and courtier, but his accomplishments brought him high-level positions in the courts of Germany and the Catholic Church. Throughout his diplomatic and ecclesiatical career, Steffani continued to compose chamber music, vocal chamber music, operas, and sacred music--works which inspired Handel and other Baroque composers.
show more

Product details

  • Electronic book text | 441 pages
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • New ed.
  • 1423762908
  • 9781423762904

Review quote

"Polymath of the Baroque convinces one that Agostino Steffani was indeed a first-rate composer and that he fused Italian melody and German counterpoint with the French penchant for dance rhythms and woodwind instrumentation. Colin Timms' book will be eagerly read and with profit by those with a particular interest in Steffani, as well as, by scholars of the Baroque in general." Music and Letters"[Colin Timms'] exhaustively researched book is clearly going to be our guide to the man and his music for many years to come."--Early Music
show more

About Colin Timms

Colin Timms is Peyton and Barber Professor of Music at the University of Birmingham, UK.
show more