Poets : Historic Recordings from the British Library Sound Archive

5 (1 rating by Goodreads)
  • CD-Audio

List price: US$13.04

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The British Library Sound Archive holds an unsurpassed collection of recordings of poets reading their own work. Starting with one of the celebrated recordings made by Alfred, Lord Tennyson in 1890, this 70-minute CD offers a survey of the English-language poets born in the 19th century whose voices have survived in the archives. Highlights include the historic recording of Robert Browning forgetting his words and W.B. Yeats explaining how he reads his poetry. Among the other poets featured on the CD are Laurence Binyon, Walter de la Mare, Gertrude Stein, John Masefield, Ezra Pound, Edith Sitwell, T.S. Eliot, E.E. Cummings and David Jones. Rarities include the only surviving poetry reading by Rudyard Kipling, powerful readings by the World-War-I poet Siegfried Sassoon, and Robert Graves.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 120 x 142 x 10mm | 99.79g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 0712305173
  • 9780712305174
  • 2,326,970

Black Friday Deals Week

Check out this week's discounts for Black Friday Deals Week. Shop now .

Rating details

1 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (1)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X