The Plentiful Darkness
23%
off

The Plentiful Darkness

3.82 (226 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
3.82 (226 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

In Heather Kassner's spine-chilling fantasy novel, reminiscent of Serafina and the Black Cloak, an orphaned girl chases a thieving boy into a magician's land of starless, moonless gloom where other children have gone missing before her.

Gleams with an eerie magic, its characters burning bright and fierce. A visual treat of a tale. --Stefan Bachmann, international bestselling author of Cinders and Sparrows

In order to survive on her own, twelve-year-old Rooney de Barra collects precious moonlight, which she draws from the evening sky with her (very rare and most magical) lunar mirror. All the while she tries to avoid the rival roughhouse boys, and yet another, more terrifying danger: the dreaded thing that's been disappearing children in the night.

When Trick Aidan, the worst of the roughhouse boys, steals her lunar mirror, Rooney will do whatever it takes to get it back. Even if it means leaping into a pool of darkness after it swallows Trick and her mirror. Or braving the Plentiful Darkness, a bewitching world devoid of sky and stars. Or begrudgingly teaming up with Trick to confront the magician and unravel the magic that has trapped Warybone's children.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 135 x 208 x 21.59mm | 300g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250764009
  • 9781250764003
  • 1,009,591

Review quote

Though the darkness is indeed plentiful, this book gleams with an eerie magic, its characters burning bright and fierce. A visual treat of a tale. --Stefan Bachmann, international bestselling author of Cinders and Sparrows

For readers who love the creepiness of Coraline . . . Lyrical narration weaves a tale that's both haunting and comforting. --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Kassner's latest is deliciously on-brand, with inventive magic, lyrical writing, and that just-right creep factor. --Kirkus

Readers who enjoy Adam Gidwitz's Grimm series will enjoy this title too. --School Library Journal

An obvious pick for dark fantasy readers. --Booklist

This eerie tale... succeeds in delivering a message of resilience and hope. --Publishers Weekly

Praise for The Forest of Stars

* Irresistible. --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Kassner's writing dazzles . . . a tale of hope, courage, and friendship. --Newbery Honor winner Ingrid Law

Like the carnival at its heart, this story is richly magical and delightfully eerie. --Cassie Beasley, New York Times bestselling author of Circus Mirandus

Fans of Kelly Barnhill and Neil Gaiman will love Kassner's sometimes sinister, always magical carnival in this evocative fantasy about finding your place in the world. --School Library Journal

The writing is rich and sensuous, and stylized black-and-white drawings add to the dreaminess. It's a captivating tale, brimming with magic, marvels, and the reminder that "friendship [is] a sort of magic all its own. --Booklist

A dark and dazzling tale, glistening with marvels, mysteries and the magic of friendship. --Sophie Anderson, author of The House with Chicken Legs

Woven together with atmospheric, lyrical language, this is a sparkling tale about grief, hope, and found families. The magic of this book will touch your heart and send it soaring. --Amanda Foody, author of Ace of Shades

A spellbinding tapestry of dreams and nightmares, shadows and hope. --J.A. White, author of The Thickety

A dark, glimmering story that combines the coziness of a classic fairy tale with the joyful inventiveness of poetry, THE FOREST OF STARS is a heartfelt, hopeful novel about owning your magic and finding your place in the world that fans of Catherynne Valente will love. --Hayley Chewins, author of The Turnaway Girls

Told in prose both dark and glittering, Kassner's mesmerizing, magical story of friendship, belonging and loss will have readers eager to join the Carnival Beneath the Stars and the extraordinary characters found inside its tents. --R. M. Romero, author of The Dollmaker of Kraków
show more

About Heather Kassner

Heather Kassner loves thunderstorms, hummingbirds, and books. She lives with her husband in Arizona, waiting (and waiting and waiting) for the rain, photographing hummingbirds, and reading and writing strange little stories. She is also the author The Forest of Stars and The Bone Garden.
show more

Rating details

226 ratings
3.82 out of 5 stars
5 28% (64)
4 38% (86)
3 23% (51)
2 10% (22)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X