The Plays

The Plays

4.48 (146 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Edited by  , Edited by  , Volume editor 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


The Plays is the first ever complete collection of Yeats's plays that honours the order in which the plays were written. It provides the latest and most accurate texts in Yeats's lifetime, as well as extensive notes and emendations from David R. Clark, one of the most respected scholars of Yeats drama today, and his fellow scholar and daughter Rosalind E. more

Product details

  • Hardback | 960 pages
  • 210 x 297 x 45mm | 1,033g
  • Palgrave MacMillan
  • Basingstoke, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 2nd 2001 ed.
  • biography
  • 0333325397
  • 9780333325391

About W. B. Yeats

DAVID R. CLARK is Emeritus Professor of English at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He is co-editor of Druid Craft: The Writing of the Shadowy Waters and W.B.Yeats: the Writing of Sophocles' King Oedipus, and the series editor for the plays of Cornell Yeats. ROSALIND E. CLARK is Associate Professor of English at St Mary's College, Indiana. She is the author of The Great Queens: Irish Goddesses from the Morrigan to Cathleen Ni Houlihan, and co-author, with David R. Clark, of W.B. Years and the Theatre of Desolate Reality, the expanded more

Table of contents

Preface Abbreviations PART ONE An Introduction for My Plays 1937 The Countess Cathleen 1892 The Land of Heart's Desire 1894 Cathleen Ni Houlihan 1902 The Hour-Glass (prose) 1903 The Pot of Broth 1904 The King's Threshold 1904 On Baile's Strand 1904 Deirdre 1907 The Unicorn from the Stars 1908 The Green Helmet 1910 The Shadowy Waters 1911 The Hour-Glass (verse) 1914 Four Plays for Dancers 1921 At the Hawk's Well 1917 The Dreaming of the Bones 1919 The OnlyJealousy of Emer 1919 Calvary 1920 The Player Queen 1922 Sophocles' King Oedipus 1928 Sophocles' Oedipus at Colonus 1934 Wheels and Butterflies (More Plays for Dancers) 1934 The Cat and the Moon 1917 Fighting the Waves 1930 The Words Upon the Window-Pane 1930 The Resurrection 1931 The King of the Great Clock Tower 1934 A Full Moon in March 1935 The Herne's Egg 1938 Purgatory 1938 The Death of Cuchulain 1939 PART TWO: ADDITIONAL PLAYS Diarmuid and Grania (1901) Where There Is Nothing (1902) Appendices: A: Yeats's Notes for the Unpublished Edition de Luxe and the Dublin Edition Notes to Appendix A B: Music for the Plays Notes to Appendix B Explanatory Notes Textual Notesshow more

Rating details

146 ratings
4.48 out of 5 stars
5 63% (92)
4 25% (37)
3 10% (14)
2 1% (2)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X