Playlist for the Dead
26%
off

Playlist for the Dead

3.43 (7,473 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"A page-turner that combines genuine intrigue with heartbreak and desire." --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

Part mystery, part love story, and part coming-of-age tale in the vein of Thirteen Reasons Why, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and The Spectacular Now, Michelle Falkoff's debut is an honest and gut-wrenching novel about loss, rage, what if feels like to outgrow a friendship that's always defined you--and the struggle to redefine yourself.

There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, Sam's best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs and a suicide note: For Sam--listen and you'll understand.

To figure out what happened, Sam has to rely on the playlist and his own memory. But the more he listens, the more he realizes that his memory isn't as reliable as he thought. And it might only be by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him that he'll finally be able to piece together his best friend's story. And maybe have a chance to change his own.

"An absorbing and sensitive read." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books"Falkoff lightens the substantial topics of grief, bullying, and suicide with Sam's engaging investigation." --ALA Booklist"Realistic and well-written. The strong characters, dialogue and the use of the playlist to structure the book make this a good pick for struggling readers." --School Library Journal

"Falkoff treats a difficult topic with delicacy and care." --Publishers Weekly"Truly powerful moments." --Kirkus Reviews
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 280 pages
  • 137 x 203 x 20mm | 227g
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062310518
  • 9780062310514
  • 1,257,055

Review quote

[A] debut novel that limns the shifting boundaries of teen friendship, loyalty and identity. Playlist takes the expected conventions of stories about teen grief and turns them inside out, keeping readers guessing until the final chapters. --Austin American-Statesman"
show more

Back cover copy

Here's what Sam knows: There was a party.There was a fight.The next morning, Sam's best friend, Hayden, was dead.All he left Sam was a playlist and a note, sayingthat he took his own life.but what Sam doesn't know is: Why?To figure out what happened, Sam has to rely on the playlist and his own memory. But the more he listens, the more he realizes that his memory isn't as reliable as he thought. Especially when someone claiming to be Hayden starts sending him cryptic messages, and a series of violent attacks begins on the bullies who made Hayden's life hell.Sam knows he has to face up to what happened the night Hayden killed himself. But it's only by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him including an eccentric, unpredictable girl who's got secrets, too that Sam will finally be able to piece together his best friend's story.And maybe have a chance to change his own."
show more

Rating details

7,473 ratings
3.43 out of 5 stars
5 16% (1,219)
4 31% (2,296)
3 37% (2,787)
2 12% (895)
1 4% (276)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X