Playing Nice

Playing Nice

4.21 (241 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

THE SENSATIONAL NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER FROM THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE GIRL BEFORE

'The kind of book that keeps you up at night' My Weekly
'Utterly terrifying and compelling' Stephanie Wrobel
'JP Delaney is King of Thrillers and Playing Nice is his best book yet' Fiona Cummins
'There is a precision about Delaney's characters that propels his twisty plots into unexpected and utterly convincing scenarios' Daily Mail

Pete Riley answers the door one morning to a parent's worst nightmare. On his doorstep is Miles Lambert, who breaks the devastating news that Pete's two-year-old, Theo, isn't Pete's real son - their babies got mixed up at birth.

The two families - Pete, his partner Maddie, and Miles and his wife Lucy - agree that, rather than swap the boys back, they'll try to find a more flexible way to share their children's lives. But a plan to sue the hospital triggers an investigation that unearths disturbing questions about just what happened the day the babies were switched.

And when Theo is thrown out of nursery for hitting other children, Maddie and Pete have to ask themselves: how far do they want this arrangement to go? What secrets lie hidden behind the Lamberts' smart front door? How much can they trust the real parents of their child - or even each other?

An addictive psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Silent Patient and Shari Lapena's The Couple Next Door.

See what everyone is saying about JP Delaney, the hottest name in psychological thrillers:

'DAZZLING' - Lee Child
'ADDICTIVE' - Daily Express
'DEVASTATING' - Daily Mail
'INGENIOUS' - New York Times
'COMPULSIVE' - Glamour Magazine
'ELEGANT' - Peter James
'SEXY' - Mail on Sunday
'ENTHRALLING' - Woman and Home
'ORIGINAL' - The Times
'RIVETING' - Lisa Gardner
'CREEPY' - Heat
'SATISFYING' - Reader's Digest
'SUPERIOR' - The Bookseller
'MORE THAN A MATCH FOR PAULA HAWKINS' - Sunday Times
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 34mm | 300g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 9781529400861
  • 10,324

Review Text

There is a precision about Delaney's characters that propels his twisty plots into unexpected and utterly convincing scenarios Daily Mail
show more

Review quote

There is a precision about Delaney's characters that propels his twisty plots into unexpected and utterly convincing scenarios * Daily Mail * The kind of book that keeps you up at night * My Weekly * Seriously, amazingly, awesomely brilliant * CJ Tudor, author of The Chalk Man * A tour-de-force . . . a compulsive and deeply thought-provoking psychological thriller * Cara Hunter, author of Close to Home * Dazzling - a pitch-perfect thriller * Lee Child * Original and brilliantly written * Sun * Dynamic, razor-sharp and thought-provoking . . . A must read! * Mary Kubica, author of The Good Girl * Terrifying and heartfelt * Woman & Home *
show more

About JP Delaney

JP Delaney's first psychological thriller, The Girl Before, was an instant Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller and went on to sell over a million copies worldwide. His subsequent books Believe Me, The Perfect Wife, and Playing Nice were also top ten bestsellers, while Playing Nice is a Richard and Judy Book Club selection for 2021. Recently, JP Delaney has been heavily involved in the television adaptation of The Girl Before, as lead writer and co-executive producer.

www.jpdelaney.co.uk
show more

Rating details

241 ratings
4.21 out of 5 stars
5 39% (95)
4 44% (106)
3 15% (37)
2 1% (2)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X