Plant Them Deep
28%
off

Plant Them Deep

3.92 (113 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Medicine men and members of the Plant Watchers society report that sacred healing plants are disappearing from the Rez. In an effort to locate and protect the rare plants, the tribal council asks Rose for help. She faces strong opposition both from healers reluctant to reveal their secret herb-gathering spots and from people who think the Rez should be cultivated with genetically-engineered plants instead of native species. Rose is shocked to discover that many plants appear to have been stolen, perhaps for the lucrative market for alternative and natural medications. Soon after her notes and maps are stolen, a Navajo man is found dead near a gathering site. Rose is convinced that he was murdered by the plant thief. Rose has picked up a trick or two from Ella Clah, her police officer daughter; she begins an independent investigation that soon has her up to her neck in trouble.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 333 pages
  • 138 x 204 x 26mm | 317.51g
  • FORGE
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0765314134
  • 9780765314130

Review quote

"This book stands alone, but of course can be read by fans of the Ella Clah series as well. Informative on subjects ranging from Navajo life to botany, the book enlightens the reader as it entertains." --New Mexico Magazine "A tense conclusion." --Publishers Weekly "Suspense is their thing, the Southwest is their 'hood, and they're imaginative. As always, the Thurlos do a credible job describing Navajo social customs. Rose is feisty." --New Mexicanshow more

Flap copy

"If it's just too long between Tony Hillerman novels, the mysteries of Aimee and David Thurlo will help you bridge the canyons. An intriguing plot with a detailed look at issues and everyday life in Indian Country. If you prefer your mysteries with a little green chile and New Mexico grit, you'll want to add the Thurlos to your reading list."--"Rocky Mountain News on "Shooting Chant "An intense, fast-paced mystery that will have fans reading into the wee hours. The authors' grasp of the Navajo culture seems authentic."--"Knight-Ridder Syndicate on "Red Mesa "The Thurlos' insights into the sociology of the reservation are authentic and persuasive."-"-Kirkus Reviews on "Changing Woman "A thrilling mystery series that incorporates Navajo history, tradition, and customs. The suspense runs high."-"-Romantic Times on "Shooting Chant "The Thurlos have created another realistic, fast-paced, and intense story. They expertly slip in information and explanations of the Navajo culture through both dialogue and narrative, adding understanding as well as entertainment. The result is a feeling of empathy for the characters, as they face the modern world and also try to retain their cultural traditions. Action scenes keep the plot moving at a quick pace with some surprises along the way, adding to the excitement."--School Library Journal on Changing Woman ""Red Mesa is the 87th Precinct on an Indian reservation, a murder mystery laced with mysticism, politics, and social commentary."--Lee Goldberg, Edgar Award-nominated executive producer of "Diagnosis: Murder "The conflicts between Anglo and traditional ways are brought into high focus. Fans of TonyHillerman's Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee, and of Jean Hager's investigator, Molly Bearpaw, should appreciate the way the Thurlos mix Native American lore with modern situations and forensics technique. Even readers unfamiliar with the Native American subgenre will be intrigued."--"Booklist (starred review) on "Shooting Chantshow more

About Aimee Thurlo

Aimee and David Thurlo have been married for more than thirty years and have been writing novels together for nearly that long, in a variety of genres including romance, young adult, and mystery. They have three ongoing mystery series, the Sister Agatha series, starring a cloistered nun, the Lee Nez series, featuring a Navajo vampire who teams up with a female FBI agent to fight crimes that have elements of the supernatural, and their flagship series, the critically-acclaimed Ella Clah novels. Several Ella Clah novels, including Tracking Bear, Red Mesa, and Shooting Chant, have received starred reviews from Booklist. David Thurlo was raised on the Navajo Indian Reservation and later taught school in Shiprock, also on the Rez. Aimee, a native of Havana, Cuba, has lived in New Mexico for more than thirty years. The Thurlos share their home with dogs, horses, and various pet rodents. They have written more than fifty novels which have been published in more than twenty countries.show more

Rating details

113 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 29% (33)
4 43% (49)
3 19% (21)
2 8% (9)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X