Plan D

Plan D

3.16 (300 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

October 2011. While West Berlin enjoys all the trappings of capitalism, on the crowded, polluted, Eastern side of the Wall, the GDR is facing bankruptcy. The ailing government's only hope lies in economic talks with the West, but then an ally of the GDR's chairman is found murdered - and all the clues suggest that his killer came from within the Stasi.

Detective Martin Wegener is assigned to the case, but, with the future of East Germany hanging over him, Wegener must work with the West German police if he is to find the killer, even if it means investigating the Stasi themselves. It is a journey that will take him from Stasi meeting rooms to secret prisons as he begins to unravel the identity of both victim and killer, and the meaning of the mysterious Plan D.

Plan D is a gripping thriller and a thought-provoking alternative history in the vein of Robert Harris's Fatherland and John le Carre's The Spy Who Came in from the Cold.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 528 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 32mm | 363g
  • VINTAGE
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Translation
  • 0099578352
  • 9780099578352
  • 604,354

Review Text

Vividly imagined and described...a very good read
show more

Review quote

Vividly imagined and described...a very good read -- Jessica Mann * Literary Review * A genuine page turner. But it's also a book about the nature of dictatorships. It shows why dictatorship is possible, how dictatorship is done and what it does to people -- Juli Zeh A gripping journey into an alternate past - Plan D is the epitome of what a great thriller should be -- William Ryan Simon Urban has created an imaginative alternate landscape that is so absurdly believable I had to remind myself, occasionally, that it wasn't the real world. And all was the backdrop to a conspiracy, wrapped in secrets, covered in deception. Compulsive reading, I devoured it -- Will Carver A superb alt-timeline thriller that recalls Robert Harris's Fatherland * Financial Times *
show more

About Simon Urban

Simon Urban was born in Hagen in 1975. He studied German literature at the University of Munster, and creative writing at the Deutsches Literaturinstitut in Leipzig, and his short stories have earned him numerous prizes. He lives in Hamburg and Techau (East Holstein) and currently works as a copywriter for a leading German creative agency.
show more

Rating details

300 ratings
3.16 out of 5 stars
5 8% (25)
4 32% (96)
3 33% (100)
2 21% (62)
1 6% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X