The Pioneer

The Pioneer

3.67 (349 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A 2020 LITA Excellence in Children's and Young Adult Science Fiction Notable Book!

Packed with action and unexpected twists, this addictive page-turner is perfect for fans of Illuminae and Defy the Stars!

When Jo steps onto planet Tau Ceti e for the first time, she's ready to put the past behind her and begin again. After all, as a pioneer, she has the job of helping build a new home away from Earth.

But underneath the idyllic surface of their new home, there's something very wrong. And when Jo accidentally uncovers a devastating secret that could destroy everything they've worked for, suddenly the future doesn't seem so bright.

With the fate of the pioneers in her hands, Jo must decide how far she's willing to go to expose the truth-before the truth destroys them all.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 22mm | 278g
  • HarperTeen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062658077
  • 9780062658074
  • 1,174,237

Flap copy

When Jo steps onto Tau Ceti e, it should be the happiest moment of her life. After all, she's been training ever since she can remember to be a cadet pilot in the International Space Agency. She's dreamed of the day she and her family would leave Earth forever and begin life as pioneers on a new planet.

But now she can't stop thinking of everything that has gone wrong on their mission: the terrible accident that almost destroyed their craft, that set their voyage back years, that killed her brother, that left her unable to fly . . .

As she helps her commander mother establish a community, she starts to feel like her old self again, and she remembers what it means to be a pioneer. That is, until she uncovers a devastating secret her mother has been keeping from her people.

With the fate of the pioneers in her hands, Jo must decide how far she's willing to go to expose the truth--before the truth destroys them all.

--Kirkus Reviews
show more

Back cover copy

When Jo steps onto Tau Ceti e, it should be the happiest moment of her life. After all, she's been training ever since she can remember to be a cadet pilot in the International Space Agency. She's dreamed of the day she and her family would leave Earth forever and begin life as pioneers on a new planet.

But now she can't stop thinking of everything that has gone wrong on their mission: the terrible accident that almost destroyed their craft, that set their voyage back years, that killed her brother, that left her unable to fly . . .

As she helps her commander mother establish a community, she starts to feel like her old self again, and she remembers what it means to be a pioneer. That is, until she uncovers a devastating secret her mother has been keeping from her people.

With the fate of the pioneers in her hands, Jo must decide how far she's willing to go to expose the truth--before the truth destroys them all.
show more

Review quote

"Briskly paced action, lively dialogue, and a vividly imagined world...a solidly entertaining sci-fi novel with a strong-willed heroine [and] an unexpected cliff-hanger." -- ALA Booklist "Beautifully captures the wonder of discovery while building plenty of suspense... A stellar adventure." -- Kirkus Reviews "A top-notch space opera full of fresh world-building and nuanced depiction of the ethical pitfalls of exploration and discovery." -- School Library Journal
show more

About Bridget Tyler

Bridget Tyler grew up in Berkeley, California. She went on to attend NYU, living in New York and London before completing her degree and moving to Los Angeles to work in the film and television industry as an executive and writer. She now lives in Oregon with her husband, who is a robotics professor at Oregon State University, and her daughter. She is also the author of The Pioneer and can be found online at www.bridgettyler.com.
show more

Rating details

349 ratings
3.67 out of 5 stars
5 27% (93)
4 34% (120)
3 24% (84)
2 10% (35)
1 5% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X