The Phoenix Exultant

The Phoenix Exultant

4.11 (1,508 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$24.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

And now "The Phoenix Exultant," a second epic novel of an heroic quest in a far future world of super-science from an important new talent. "The Phoenix Exultant" is a continuation of the story begun in "The Golden Age" and, like it, a grand space opera in the tradition of Jack Vance and Roger Zelazny (with a touch of Cordwainer Smith-style invention). At the conclusion of the first book, Phaethon of Radamanthus House, was left an exile from his life of power and privilege. Now he embarks upon a quest across the transformed solar system--Jupiter is a second sun, Mars and Venus terraformed, humanity immortal--among humans, intelligent machines, and bizarre life-forms, to recover his memory, to regain his place in society and to move that society away from stagnation and toward the stars. And most of all Phaethon's quest is to regain ownership of the magnificent starship, the Phoenix Exultant, the most wonderful ship ever built, and to fly her to the stars. It is an astounding story of super-science, a thrilling wonder story that recaptures the verve of SF's Golden Age writers "The Phoenix Exultant" is a suitably grand and stirring fulfillment of the promise shown in "The Golden Age" and confirms John C. Wright as a major new talent in the field.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 162.6 x 241.3 x 23.1mm | 567g
  • St Martin's Press
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0765304325
  • 9780765304322
  • 2,228,068

About John C. Wright

John C. Wright, a journalist and a lawyer turned SF and fantasy writer, lives with his wife and son in Centreville, Virginia.
show more

Review quote

"Extraordinary ... Witty, inventive, labyrinthine, with a life-sized cast, Wright's creation--something like Alexander Jablokov meets Charles Sheffield, with a dash of Gene Wolfe--grows steadily more addictive."--"Kirkus Reviews" "A philosophical novel in high-tech dress."--"The New York Times"
show more

Rating details

1,508 ratings
4.11 out of 5 stars
5 39% (595)
4 38% (573)
3 18% (275)
2 3% (44)
1 1% (21)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X