The Phoenix Empress
10%
off

The Phoenix Empress

5 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

255 days to go
Pre-order Add to wishlist

Description

The Phoenix Empress, the sequel to K Arsenault Rivera' the wildly buzzed about The Tiger's Daughter, an epic historical fantasy in the vein of Patrick Rothfuss and Naomi Novik "Rich, expansive, and grounded in human truth...simply exquisite." --V. E. Schwab, New York Times bestselling author of the Shades of Magic series on The Tiger's Daughter The Tiger's Daughter was... Indie Next List October 2017 Pick Paste Magazine's 10 Most Anticipated Books in October 2017 io9's Best Books Coming in 2017 The Verge's SF/F Books to Read in October 2017 BookRiot's Most Anticipated Titles of 2017 Medium's Most Anticipated Books of 2017 Bookish's Fall 2017's Hottest SF/F Books Since she was a child, the divine empress O Shizuka has believed she was an untouchable god. When her uncle, ruler of the Hokkaran Empire, sends her on a suicide mission as a leader of the Imperial Army, the horrors of war cause her to question everything she knows. Thousands of miles away, the exiled and cursed warrior Barsalyya Shefali undergoes trials the most superstitious would not believe in order to return to Hokkaran court and claim her rightful place next to O Shizuka. As the distance between disgraced empress and blighted warrior narrows, a familiar demonic force grows closer to the heart of the empire. Will the two fallen warriors be able to protect their home?show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 136.65 x 209.55mm
  • Tor Books
  • New York
  • English
  • 0765392577
  • 9780765392572
  • 1,256,759

Review quote

Praise for The Tiger's Daughter "K Arsenault Rivera turns many of the standard conventions of fantasy on their heads....A love letter... lavishly chronicling how two women fall in love.... thoughtfully rendered and palpably felt." -- The Washington Post "Rivera's immense imagination and finely detailed worldbuilding have produced a series introduction of mammoth scope." --Publishers Weekly (starred review) "The Tiger's Daughter sinks its claws into a reader and refuses to let them go until the very last page...As a word, ambitious sums up this debut." --Culturess "The epistolary tale at the heart of The Tiger's Daughter unfolds with deceptive elegance, leading the reader to a conclusion at once unexpected, touching, and apt." --Jacqueline Carey, author of the bestselling Kushiel's Legacy series "A layered and mesmerizing tale of love and legends, this fierce story will settle in your bones like a chill and leave your heart aching." --Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen "Delicate, intricate, inevitable...a stunning debut. It took my breath away." --Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author of Every Heart a Doorwayshow more

About K Arsenault Rivera

K ARSENAULT RIVERA was born in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico, but moved to New York when she was a toddler. While not managing a nutritional supplement store in Brooklyn, K is an avid participant in the RPG community, from which she drew inspiration for her debut novel, The Tiger's Daughter.show more

Rating details

1 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (1)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X