The Pet and the Pendulum

The Pet and the Pendulum

4.19 (120 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Edgar and Allan's final misadventure! For fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket In The Tell-Tale Start, twins Edgar and Allan Poe foiled the nefarious Professor Perry, who wanted to use them in his deadly quantum entanglement experiment. In Once Upon a Midnight Eerie, they took on his equally evil mother and daughter. Now, in The Pet and the Pendulum, it's time for the real showdown, which takes place in an old mansion right outside Baltimore. As with the first two books, The Pet and the Pendulum is filled with codes, brain-teasers, smart (not snarky) humor, and cameos by the actual Edgar Allan Poe, who is watching over his great-great-great-nephews from the Great Beyond. Readers won't want to miss the Misaventures' end!
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 196 pages
  • 130 x 196 x 18mm | 181g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0142423483
  • 9780142423486
  • 674,452

Review quote

PRAISE FOR THE MISADVENTURES OF EDGAR AND ALLAN POE: "Funny, outrageously punny, and intricately plotted in a way that will captivate young readers.An easy sell to boy and girl readers who love a funny mystery . . . Book two is on the way and, truly, I can't wait."--Children's Literature "The clever twins, together with some new characters (the Dickinson twin girls, Em and Milly), must foil the villainous plans and help uncover a long lost pirate treasure...intrigue as well as amusement as the clues unfold. Pen-and-ink drawings add to the quirky fun."--School Library Journal "The psychically linked twins lay a pair of New Orleans ghosts to rest while surviving a new threat to their lives in this...gumbo of jokes, codes, treasure, history, mystery and assorted literary references."--Kirkus Reviews "Once again the clever boys bring dastardly villains to justice while effortlessly outwitting every grown-up in sight. McAlpine uses New Orleans as a colorful backdrop for a tale of comedy and adventure."--Booklist AWARDS: Publishers Weekly Listen Up! Audiobook Awards -- Best Audiobook of the Year -- The Tell-Tale Start
show more

About Gordon McAlpine

In addition to Edgar and Allan Poe's first two Misadventures, Gordon McAlpine is the author of three adult novels, most recently Hammett Unwritten, and the YA/adult crossover Mystery Box (which imagines the "real life" of Franklin Dixon and Carolyn Keene, the creators of the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew!). He lives with his wife in Southern California. Sam Zuppardi used to draw pictures at school when he was supposed to be doing work. In fact, he still draws pictures, though he is no longer at school. At the moment he lives in York, England which is a very picturesque city and particularly good for ghost walks. Sam likes a good ghost walk.
show more

Rating details

120 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 40% (48)
4 42% (51)
3 14% (17)
2 3% (4)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X