The People's Peace

The People's Peace : British History Since 1945

3.95 (41 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$14.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This comprehensive and widely acclaimed study of British history since 1945 has now been fully updated and expanded for this new edition to include a chapter on the rise of New Labour. `an outstanding work: comprehensive, lucid and judicious.' Ben Pimlott, Sunday Times `A great success ...always lucid and readable.' John Grigg, The Times `An achievement of astonishing scope and thoroughness which would be beyond the reach of most other scholars writing in English today.' John Campbell, Times Literary Supplement `Few aspects of life in Britain ...escape the author's notice and the scale and scope of the ground he covers alone makes this a work of a tour de force.' Anthony Howard, History Today `A major achievement ...the most comprehensive, detailed and objective interpretation we have on this controversial and still undigested period ...It will undoubtedly become a standard work.' Harold Perkin, Twentieth-Century British History `anyone who studies politics will want to possess his book.' Noel Annan, The Independent on Sunday `No one writes better than Dr Morgan of the rise and fall of governments, their personalities and policies, their fluid and shifting identities, their ultimate and inevitable exhaustion. He is particularly good at identifying the critical moments at which governments changed course, or lost a golden opportunity for doing so ...' Paul Addison, London Review of Booksshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 604 pages
  • 129.54 x 195.58 x 35.56mm | 430.91g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Paperbacks
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Revised
  • 2nd Revised edition
  • 16 b&w plates
  • 0192853503
  • 9780192853509

Table of contents

Part I: The Era of Advance, 1945-1961; The Facade of Unity; Labour's High Noon, 1945-1947; The Collectivist Retreat, 1948-1951; The Conservative Compromise, 1951-1956; The Zenith of One-Nation Toryism, 1957-1961; Part II: The Years of Retreat, 1961-1979; The Stagnant Society, 1961-1964; Labour Blown Off Course, 1964-1967; Years of Hard Slog, 1968-1970; The Heath Experiment, 1970-1974; Labour's Final Term, 1974-1976; The Years of Discontent, 1977-1979; Part III: Thatcherism and its Aftermath, 1979-1998; The Foundations of Thatcherism, 1979-1983; High Noon for the New Right, 1983-1990; Fin de Siecle: The Rise of New Labour, more

About Kenneth O. Morgan

Professor Kenneth O. Morgan FBA was Fellow The Queen's College, Oxford, 1966-89; Vice-Chancellor of the University of Wales, Aberystwyth, 1989-95 and Senior Vice-Chancellor of the University of Wales, 1993-5. He is now Research Professor of the University of Wales, Aberystwyth, and Honorary Fellow of The Queen's more

Review quote

"This is certainly one of the most impressive accounts and syntheses of the last half-century in Britain."--British Politics Group Newslettershow more

Rating details

41 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 15% (6)
4 66% (27)
3 20% (8)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X