The People's Peace

The People's Peace : British History 1945-89

3.95 (41 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$14.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The People's Peace is the first comprehensive study by a professional historian of British history from 1945 to the present day. It examines the transformation of post-war Britain from the planning enthusiasm of 1945 to the ethic of Thatcherism. Its themes include the troubles of the British economy; public criticism of the legitimacy of the state and its instruments of authority; the co-existence of growing personal prosperity with widespread social inequality; and the debates aroused by the process of deconlonization, and by Britain's relationship to the Commonweatlh, the transatlantic world and Europe. Changes in cultural life, from the puritanical `austerity' of the 1940s , through the `permisiveness' of the 1960s, to the tensions of recent years are also charted. Kenneth Morgan examines the paradoxes of life in the modern United Kingdom: the growing affluence and the internal peace of mainland Britain, with its underside of disillusion and discontent. This book is intended for scholars and students with an interest in the 20th-century history of Britain; also post-war political, social, economic, and cultural history; trades unionists, journalists, political activists; general more

Product details

  • Paperback | 574 pages
  • 130 x 190 x 46mm | 421.84g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford Paperbacks
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 8 pp black and white plates, bibliography
  • 0192852523
  • 9780192852526

Table of contents

Part 1 the era of advance, 1945-1961: the facade of unity; Labour's high noon, 1945-1947; the collectivist retreat, 1945-1951; the Conservative compromise, 1951-1956; the zenith of one-nation Toryism, 1957-1961. Part 2 The years of retreat, 1961-1979: the stagnant society, 1961-1964; Labour blown off course, 1964-1967; years of hard slog, 1968-1970; the Heath experiment, 1970-1974; Labour's final term, 1974-1976; the years of discontent, 1977-1979. Part 3 Storm and stress, 1979-1990: the foundations of "Thatcherism", 1979-1983; high noon for the New Right - resurgence or retreat?, more

About Kenneth O. Morgan

About the Author: Kenneth O. Morgan is Principal of the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth, and is the author of such books as Labour People, Rebirth of a Nation: Wales 1880-1980, and is editor of The Oxford Illustrated History of more

Rating details

41 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 15% (6)
4 66% (27)
3 20% (8)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X