The Penguin History of the United States of America

The Penguin History of the United States of America

3.88 (428 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


This new edition of Brogan's superb one-volume history - from early British colonisation to the Reagan years - captures an array of dynamic personalities and events. In a broad sweep of America's triumphant progress. Brogan explores the period leading to Independence from both the American and the British points of view, touching on permanent features of 'the American character' - both the good and the bad. He provides a masterly synthesis of all the latest research illustrating America's rapid growth from humble beginnings to global more

Product details

  • Paperback | 752 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 38mm | 439.98g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 2nd Revised ed.
  • maps
  • 014025255X
  • 9780140252552
  • 32,066

About Hugh Brogan

Hugh Brogan was educated at Repton School and Cambridge. He worked on the Economist for two years before his first visit to the United States as a Harkness Fellow in 1962. He was a Fellow of St John's College, Cambridge from 1963 to 1974 and thereafter, until his retirement in 1998, taught at the University of Essex. He has several published works, the most recent of which is 'Signalling from Mars: Selected Letters of Arthur Ransome' (1997).show more

Table of contents

The Penguin History of the USA - Hugh Brogan A Note of Thanks Note for the Revised Edition Acknowledgments Book One: The Settlement 1. Prelude c. 30,000 BC-C. AD 1600 2. The Roots of English Colonization 3. The Planting of Virginia 1607-76 4. The Planting of New England 1604-c.1675 5. Indians 1492-1920 Book Two: The Old Order and the American Revolution 6. Imperial Britain 1660-1763 7. Thirteen Colonies c. 1675-1763 8. The Waking of the Revolution 1759-66 9. The Road to Ruin 1766-75 10. The War of the Revolution 1775-83 11. The Peace and the Constitution 1783-9 Book Three: The Age of Equality 12. The Planting of the West 13. The Development of a Democracy 1789-1841 14. Slavery and its Consequences 1800-1861 15. The War About Slavery 1861-5 16. Reconstruction 1865-77 Book Four: The Age of Gold 17. The Billion-Dollar Country 1865-1900 18. Congressional Government and its Critics 1869-96 19. The Progressive Adventure 1897-1914 20. The Education of Woodrow Wilson 1914-21 21. Irresponsibility 1921-33 Book Five: The Superpower 22. The Era of Franklin Roosevelt 1933-8 23. The Reluctant Giant 1933-45 24. Cold War Abroad and at Home 1945-61 25. Unfinished Business 1954-68 26. The Crisis of the New Order 1963-74 27. A World Restored? 1977-89 A Note on Further Reading Indexshow more

Rating details

428 ratings
3.88 out of 5 stars
5 26% (112)
4 46% (196)
3 21% (92)
2 4% (16)
1 3% (12)

Our customer reviews

"As someone who did sit through Hugh Brogan's lectures in the early 1980s, and found them interesting and informative,I would advise people to ignore the majority of the previous comment. Firstly, it's a history of the United States of America (the clue is in the words united and states), so if you want a pre-union history of native americans, english settlers, spanish explorers or Viking discoverers, then this isn't for you. Also if English spelling upsets you, best go for an Americanish book. It's a fine scholarly work. "show more
by a Book Depository customer
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X