The Penderwicks on Gardam Street
7%
off

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

4.26 (16,898 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

This series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Over one million copies sold, now with a bright new look! The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and ready for an adventure! But the adventure they get isn't quite what they had in mind. Mr. Penderwick's sister has decided it's time for him to start dating--and the girls know that can only mean one thing: disaster. Enter the Save-Daddy Plan--a plot so brilliant, so bold, so funny, that only the Penderwick girls could have come up with it. It's high jinks, big laughs, and loads of family warmth as the Penderwicks triumphantly return.
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 308 pages
  • 132 x 191 x 23mm | 227g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0440422035
  • 9780440422037
  • 82,851

Review Text

Starred Review, School Library Journal , March 2008:

"This is a book to cherish and to hold close like a warm, cuddly blanket that you draw around yourself to keep out the cold."

Starred Review, Booklist , May 1, 2008:

"Just the sort of cozy fare that's missing in today's mean-girl world."

Starred Review, Publishers Weekly , April 28, 2008:

"It's sheer pleasure to spend time with these exquisitely drawn characters, girls so real that readers will feel the wind through their hair as they power down the soccer field."
Review, San Francisco Chronicle , April 27, 2008:
"Birdsall writes with amazing grace."
Review, Parade , June 22, 2008:
"[A]n old-fashioned (in a good way) read with well-drawn characters, warmth, and humor."
Review, The New York Times Book Review , July 13, 2008:
"Birdsall's second novel . . . offers comforting comedy."

From the Hardcover edition.
show more

Review quote

Starred Review, School Library Journal, March 2008:

"This is a book to cherish and to hold close like a warm, cuddly blanket that you draw around yourself to keep out the cold." Starred Review, Booklist, May 1, 2008: "Just the sort of cozy fare that's missing in today's mean-girl world." Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, April 28, 2008: "It's sheer pleasure to spend time with these exquisitely drawn characters, girls so real that readers will feel the wind through their hair as they power down the soccer field."
Review, San Francisco Chronicle, April 27, 2008:
"Birdsall writes with amazing grace."
Review, Parade, June 22, 2008:
"[A]n old-fashioned (in a good way) read with well-drawn characters, warmth, and humor."
Review, The New York Times Book Review, July 13, 2008:
"Birdsall's second novel . . . offers comforting comedy."
show more

About Jeanne Birdsall

Jeanne Birdsall lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with her husband and a large assortment of animals. The Penderwicks on Gardam Street is her second novel.
show more

Rating details

16,898 ratings
4.26 out of 5 stars
5 47% (7,978)
4 36% (6,040)
3 14% (2,326)
2 2% (415)
1 1% (139)

Our customer reviews

Rosalind has been a fine mother to her sisters Jane, Skye, and Batty for four years, ever since their mother died. So when her Aunt Claire visits with a blue letter for her father, written by her mother, Rosalind can't chase away the sense of foreboding. When she finds out that her mother's letter suggests her dad start dating again, Rosalind quickly calls the sisters together for an emergency MOPS - a Meeting of Penderwick Sisters. Together they hatch the Save Daddy Plan, designed to ensure that they will never have to endure a stepmother. As their father begins to suffer through the torture of dating, the sisters become involved in complications of their own. Skye and Jane get tangled up with homework while playing soccer in perfect sync. Rosalind struggles with her own boy problems involving the Geiger brothers. And Batty spies on Bug Man with her dog, Hound, and the new neighbor's little boy, Ben. Before long, not only are the sisters beginning to unravel, but they also realize that the Save Daddy Plan is making their father miserable. After a night of revelations and confessions, the sisters revise the plan with the help of Ben's mother, Iantha. THE PENDERWICKS ON GARDAM STREET is a delightful book featuring laughter, pranks, bedtime stories, and the sweet emotions of family love. Jeanne Birdsall and the Penderwicks will capture your heart.show more
by TeensReadToo
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X