Pavel and I
34%
off

Pavel and I

3.71 (292 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Berlin, 1946. During one of the coldest winters on record, Pavel Richter, a decommissioned GI, finds himself at odds with a rogue British Army colonel and a Soviet General when a friend deposits the frozen body of a dead Russian spy in his apartment. So begins the race to take possession of the spy's secret, a race which threatens Pavel's friendship with a street orphan named Anders and his budding love for Sonia, his enigmatic upstairs neighbour. As the action hurtles towards catastrophe, the hunt merges with one for the truth about the novel's protagonist: who exactly is Pavel Richter?show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 26mm | 240.4g
  • Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 074759631X
  • 9780747596318
  • 338,427

Review quote

'Writing in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carre, Vyleta throws a nod to Oliver Twist and Albert Camus in this stylish update of the Cold War spy thriller ... a proper page-turner' Metro 'A gripping espionage thriller very much in the uncertain, paranoid vein of The Third Man ... It keeps you hooked on its mysteries by rationing the truth more severely than its characters' coffee ... an entirely guilt-free treat' Independent 'An espionage thriller, complete with double-crosses, torture, prostitution, a monkey and summary executions ... There is much to like about this book' The Times 'Pavel & I is a hybrid of literary writing and spy novel - a kind of postmodern pastiche of Raymond Chandler that is irreverently humorous and inventive with language' Time Outshow more

About Dan Vyleta

Dan Vyleta is the son of Czech refugees who emigrated to Germany in the late 1960s. He holds a PhD in History from the University of Cambridge. He lives and works in Edmonton, Canada. This is his first novel.show more

Rating details

292 ratings
3.71 out of 5 stars
5 20% (57)
4 45% (131)
3 27% (78)
2 6% (17)
1 3% (9)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X