A Passionate Love Affair with a Total Stranger
17%
off

A Passionate Love Affair with a Total Stranger

3.79 (1,460 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A hilariously funny and gorgeously romantic story about falling in love when you least expect it.

Charley Lambert has worked hard at creating a perfect life. She has an aspirational flat, a job of international significance and a very good pair of legs, thanks to a rigorous health and fitness regime. Best of all, her boss has asked her out after seven years' hard flirting and a covert fumble in a mop cupboard.

Then she breaks her leg in three places, watches her boss propose to someone else and - horror - is forced to hand over her job to her nasty deputy. Charley, a certified workaholic, fears that she will go mad.

Dangerously bored, she starts helping people who are talentless at internet dating. Then William arrives in her inbox and rocks her world. Helpless, she watches herself fall in love with him and discovers she's not who she thought she was.

But can she turn her back on her old life - all for a total stranger?

Praise for Lucy Robinson

'The new Marian Keyes . . . romantic and laugh-out-loud hilarious' Cosmopolitan

'We laughed, we cried, we fell in love' Heat

'Fans of Marian Keyes will love Lucy Robinson's giggle-inducing humour and relatable characters' Glamour

'You'll be laughing one minute and crying the next' Lucy Diamond
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 28mm | 323g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0718157664
  • 9780718157661
  • 250,123

Review Text

Praise for Lucy Robinson -
show more

Review quote

Warm-hearted and funny * Sunday Mirror * As sad as it is funny, as it is psychologically thrilling . . . Totally satisfying. I could not put it down! -- Katy Regan Intriguing and uplifting - a real page-turner full of humour and mystery -- Julie Cohen I flaming loved it -- Milly Johnson You'll be laughing one minute and crying the next -- Lucy Diamond Enthralling from the get-go and packed with an irresistible blend of brilliant characters, intriguing drama and a plot twist that will slam-dunk your brain into the middle of next week -- Isabelle Broom I couldn't put this book down: a fabulously original love story -- Lucy Dillon Fabulous characters, dark secrets and a clever, compulsive plot that will take you completely by surprise -- Lucy Diamond Fans of Marian Keyes and Cecelia Ahern will love Lucy Robinson's giggle-inducing humour, relatable characters and her ability to tackle tough topics in the most engaging way * Glamour * One of Britain's most talented rising stars * Huffington Post * We laughed, we cried, we fell in love * Heat * The new Marian Keyes . . . romantic and laugh-out-loud hilarious * Cosmopolitan * Praise for Lucy Robinson * - *
show more

About Lucy Robinson

Lucy Robinson is the author of The Greatest Love Story of All Time, A Passionate Love Affair with a Total Stranger and The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me. Lucy worked in theatre and then television documentaries before starting a blog for Marie Claire about her laughably unsuccessful foray into the world of online dating. She did not meet a man during this time but she did become a novelist: every cloud has a silver lining. She now lives in Bristol with her partner, The Man, whom she met when she took off to Buenos Aires to become a bohemian writer in 2010.


Twitter: @Lucy_Robinson
Facebook: www.facebook.com/LucyRobinsonWriter
Instagram: RobinsonWriter
Website: www.lucy-robinson.co.uk
show more

Rating details

1,460 ratings
3.79 out of 5 stars
5 28% (407)
4 36% (523)
3 27% (387)
2 7% (106)
1 3% (37)

Our customer reviews

Charley (short for Charlotte) is a highly driven young woman who plans her every second to be full of work, self-improvement and aspirational activities. She's also in love with her boss and things seem about to happen at last on that front. But when she breaks her leg and pelvis all her plans go awry and she starts focusing on a new business which helps internet daters communicate better. Gradually she starts to see a new side of herself and look at those around her a bit more clearly. I like a bit of chick lit from time to time (though I'm not keen on the term itself), as long as it's not of the "finding a man solves all the heroine's problems" school. I'm also not hugely keen on kooky heroines who fall over a lot, say the wrong thing to the wrong person and generally get up to all manner of "hilarious" shenanigans. There's a bit of that in this book, which probably explains why I didn't like it as much as I thought I would. There's lots to enjoy in the novel - the characters are well done and mostly realistic (other than when they have to act in a particular way for the purposes of the plot). I liked Charley's family in particular. The Edinburgh setting is different from the London-centric books I often see so I enjoyed that, but it would have been nice to have the setting used a bit more prominently. There are several twists and turns in the plot, but I felt it was obvious who Charley would end up with right from his first appearance. The bulk of the book seems like a delaying tactic, a bit like making the happy couple wander through a maze of obstacles before they can meet happily in the middle. This just felt like an exercise on the part of the author as it never felt that she would do anything else but end up with the predestined one. There are two quotes on the back cover of the book attesting to how "laugh-out-loud funny" it is. I always find that the more reviewers insist on how funny something is, the less likely I am to want to laugh - I found parts of the book amusing but definitely didn't laugh out loud or anything near it. I quite enjoyed the book while I was reading it, but a few days on can't say that I remember it with any great fondness. For real chick-lit lovers it's probably worth a go, but for anyone who hasn't read the genre before there are much better places to start.show more
by CuteBadger
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X