Parson Harding's Daughter

Parson Harding's Daughter

3.37 (58 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$8.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The Reverend Henry Harding was a handsome and prepossessing man. Unfortunately fate had seen fit to bless him with a family of extremely plain and unprepossessing children. Caroline was the least plain, according to Lady Lennox, but the entire Lennox family also admitted that Caroline was the least significant person in Dorset. Caroline, already twenty-six and bullied by her sister, was nervous in company and had no prospects at all. She had one golden memory, of an admirer when she was eighteen, but John Gates, nephew to the Lennox family, had gone to India and forgotten her. Or so she thought. When Caroline was summoned by Lady Lennox to be told that Johnny Gates had sent a proposal of marriage, Caroline first declined. But within a few weeks tragedy had overtaken her. The little security and contentment she had known vanished from her life and left her no option but to accept Lady Lennox's offer. In the October of 1776, Caroline Harding set sail for India, to a new life and a man she had not seen for eight years.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 101.6 x 175.26 x 25.4mm | 181.44g
  • Corgi Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 0552142999
  • 9780552142991

About Caroline Harvey

Caroline Harvey is the pseudonym of Joanna Trollope, the highly acclaimed author of bestselling contemporary novels. The Choir, A Village Affair, A Passionate Man, The Rector's Wife, The Men and the Girls, A Spanish Lover, The Best of Friends, Next of Kin, Other People's Children, Marrying the Mistress, Girl from the South and Second Honeymoon are all published by Black Swan. She has also written a study of women in the British Empire, Britannia's Daughters. As Caroline Harvey she has written several historical novels including Legacy of Love, A Second Legacy, The Steps of the Sun, Leaves from the Valley, The Brass Dolphin, City of Gems and The Taverners' Place, which are all published by Corgi Books. Joanna Trollope was born in Gloucestershire, where she still lives. She was appointed OBE in the 1996 Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature.
show more

Rating details

58 ratings
3.37 out of 5 stars
5 12% (7)
4 29% (17)
3 45% (26)
2 12% (7)
1 2% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X