A Parliament of Bodies
10%
off

A Parliament of Bodies

4.5 (8 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available soon, pre-order now.
When will my order arrive?

Description

Mixing high fantasy and mystery, the third book in the Maradaine Constabulary series follows Inspectors Satrine Rainey and Minox Welling as they track down a dangerous murderer. The city of Maradaine is vexed by the Gearbox Murders: a series of gruesome deaths orchestrated by a twisted mechanical genius. With no motive and no pattern, Inspectors Satrine Rainey and Minox Welling--the retired spy and untrained mage--are at a loss to find a meaningful lead in the case. At least, until the killer makes his most audacious exhibit yet: over a dozen victims in a clockwork deathtrap on the floor of the Druth Parliament. The crime scene is a madhouse, and political forces conspire to grind their investigation to a halt. The King's Marshals claim jurisdiction of the case, corruption in the Constabulary thwarts their efforts, and a special Inquest threatens to end Minox's career completely. Their only ally is Dayne Heldrin, a provisional member of the Tarian Order, elite warriors trained in the art of protection. But Dayne's connection to the Gearbox Murders casts suspicion on his motives, as he might be obsessed with a phantom figure he believes is responsible. While Satrine and Minox struggle to stop the Gearbox from claiming even more victims, the grinding gears of injustice might keep them from ever solving these murders, and threaten to dismantle their partnership forever.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 106 x 171 x 25mm | 195g
  • English
  • 0756412668
  • 9780756412661
  • 814,734

Review quote

Praise for the Maradaine universe: "Maresca's debut is smart, fast, and engaging fantasy crime in the mold of Brent Weeks and Harry Harrison. Just perfect." --Kat Richardson, national bestselling author of Revenant "Veranix is Batman, if Batman were a teenager and magically talented.... Action, adventure, and magic in a school setting will appeal to those who love Harry Potter and Patrick Rothfuss' The Name of the Wind." ―Library Journal (starred) "Marshall Ryan Maresca is some kind of mad genius.... Not since Terry Pratchett's Ankh Morpork have we enjoyed exploring every angle of an invented locale quite this much." --B&N Sci-fi & Fantasy Blog "Another exceptional book from MRM and adds yet another layer of vibrancy and depth to the ever expanding city of Maradaine. The Holver Alley Crew will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch or Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows." ―Powder & Page "Take the caped avenger of Batman, the teenage-superhero angst of Spiderman, the street-gang bravado of West Side Story, and toss in the magic of Harry Potter, and what have you got? Marshall Ryan Maresca's The Thorn of Dentonhill." --Kings River Life Magazine "Maresca brings the whole package, complete and well-constructed. If you're looking for something fun and adventurous for your next fantasy read, look no further than The Thorn of Dentonhill, an incredible start to a new series, from an author who is clearly on his way to great things." --Bibliosanctum "Not many books make me want to jump inside the pages and live among the characters. The Holver Alley Crew was an addicting read." --Night Owl Reviews (top pick) "The Thorn of Dentonhill was a fast-paced read with action from start to finish. I loved every minute of it." --Short and Sweet Reviews "Definitely a fun read, and one classic fantasy fans will likely enjoy." --Bibliotropic
show more

About Marshall Ryan Maresca

Marshall Ryan Maresca's work has appeared in Norton Anthology of Hint Fiction and Rick Klaw's anthology Rayguns Over Texas. His novels The Thorn of Dentonhill, A Murder of Mages, The Holver Alley Crew, and The Way of the Shield each begin their own fantasy series, all set in the port city of Maradaine.
show more

Rating details

8 ratings
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 50% (4)
4 50% (4)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X