Paris Letters
8%
off

Paris Letters

3.84 (5,607 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A New York Times bestseller
For readers of Eat Pray Love, Under the Tuscan Sun, and The 4-Hour Workweek, comes a funny, romantic, and inspiring travel memoir about a woman who quits her job, moves to Paris, and finds love-and herself.
With romantic Paris as the backdrop and beautifully illustrated with the author's own sketches, Paris Letters is for those who dream of a life richer and more fulfilling than the one they are living today.
Exhausted and on the verge of burnout, Janice MacLeod cuts back, saves up, and buys herself two years of freedom in Europe. In Paris, Janice meets Christophe, the cute butcher down the street-who doesn't speak English. They embark on a whirlwind Paris romance, and she soon realizes she can never return to the world of twelve-hour workdays. But her dwindling savings force her to find a way to fund her dreams again. So Janice turns to her three loves-words, art, and Christophe-to figure out a way to make her happily-ever-after in Paris last forever.
Not only is this a charming nonfiction love story, but it's also filled with financial tips, including MacLeod's list of "100 Ways to Save," and other practical advice to make your dream of living abroad reality.
Praise for Paris Letters:
"Janice MacLeod's charming Paris Letters takes us on her starry-eyed discovery of Paris, the joys of learning the French language, a unique career in art and, best of all, the romance of a lifetime! C'est bon!"-Lynne Martin, author of Home Sweet Anywhere
"Written as though to a best friend telling her story over lattes-or cafe creme. Relatable and inspiring ... cleverly crafted with wit and unexpected wisdom"-New York Journal of Books
"Aspirational fiction? No, a true story to inspire similar dreamers out there."-National Geographic's "Intelligent Travel"
A wonderful gift for the armchair traveler, artist, and people who love to travel.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 15mm | 325g
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1402288794
  • 9781402288791
  • 18,015

Review quote

"Janice MacLeod's charming Paris Letters takes us on her starry-eyed discovery of Paris, the joys of learning the French language, a unique career in art and, best of all, the romance of a lifetime! C'est bon!" - Lynne Martin, author of Home Sweet Anywhere "Charming ... How memorist Janice MacLeod rewrote her life story, one gorgeously illustrated letter at a time" - Flare Magazine "Through Janice's letters to friends and subscribers, as well as her writings, we can discover the delights she finds ... Follow your heart and dare to live your dreams but prepare for them first" - Dear Author "I can't do justice to their beautiful love story-you need to read a firsthand account." - CanadianLiving.com "Paris Letters will inspire people ... MacLeod's finding her bliss gives everyone else hope that the impossible is anything but." - Shelf Awareness "Escape for a few hours with this delightful and breezy memoir from a Canadian writer and artist living in Paris. " - Canadian Family "Inspiration for others longing for adventure ... A romantic romp from Santa Monica to Paris with loads of advice on how to live minimally and take risks in life and love." - Kirkus Reviews "Written as though to best friend telling her story over lattes-or cafe creme. Relatable and inspiring ... cleverly crafted with wit and unexpected wisdom" - New York Journal of Books "Aspirational fiction? No, a true story to inspire similar dreamers out there." - National Geographic's "Intelligent Travel"
show more

About Janice MacLeod

Janice MacLeod creates letters about Paris, paints them, personalizes them, and sends out monthly to adoring fans. A former advertising copywriter and associate creative director, she co-authored The Breakup Repair Kit and followed it with The Dating Repair Kit. Together, they have been translated into a handful of languages and have sold more than 27,000 copies.
show more

Rating details

5,607 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 28% (1,578)
4 38% (2,123)
3 26% (1,454)
2 6% (354)
1 2% (98)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X