The Paris Enigma

The Paris Enigma : A Novel

3.26 (914 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In the tradition of Caleb Carr's The Alienist and Eric Larsen's The Devil in the White City comes The Paris Enigma, a gripping tale of murder and the art of crime solving. Written in a strikingly original voice, and poignantly evoking a world about to lose its innocence forever, The Paris Enigma features two detectives who find themselves in a race against time around glorious fin de siecle Paris, encountering all manner of secret societies and solving philosophical puzzles, while also trying to save a dangerously beautiful woman.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 244 pages
  • 134.62 x 200.66 x 17.78mm | 204.12g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0061479683
  • 9780061479687
  • 1,759,057

Back cover copy

In the tradition of The Alienist and The Devil in the White City comes a gripping, atmospheric tale of murder and the art of crime solving.

Paris, 1889: in anticipation of the World's Fair and the opening of Monsieur Eiffel's tower, a society of the world's most famous detectives convenes as a single body for the very first time. Sent in place of a conspicuously absent Renato Craig, founding member of The Twelve, his novice assistant Sigmundo Salvatrio arrives, bearing a secret message for the brilliant, brooding Viktor Arzaky, Craig's best friend and the society's cofounder. When one of The Twelve is discovered murdered at the Tower's base--the first in a series of grisly slayings--it falls to Arzaky and Salvatrio, the last remaining student of Craig's famed Academy for Detectives in Buenos Aires, to find and stop the killer. But what the two discover as they race around fin-de-siecle Paris--encountering secret societies, philosophical puzzles, and an imperiled, dangerously beautiful woman--has shattering consequences that will alter the fate of their precious brotherhood forever.
show more

Review quote

"[An] outstanding puzzler. . . . De Santis adroitly explores such issues as the difference between image and reality while providing intelligent and entertaining discussions of alternate approaches to detection."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
show more

Rating details

914 ratings
3.26 out of 5 stars
5 10% (95)
4 30% (273)
3 38% (351)
2 18% (168)
1 3% (27)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X