Parallel

Parallel

3.86 (3,705 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A romantic, mind-bending novel about parallel worlds, soul mates, destiny, and the big-time consequences of even our smallest choices, perfect for fans of The Future of Us and Before I Fall. Abby Barnes had it all planned out--high school, college, career--but one decision made in her senior year of high school changed her carefully mapped-out future. When Abby wakes up the morning of her eighteenth birthday, it's as though her past has been rewritten. Abby discovers that a cosmic collision of parallel universes has erased her old reality. Now Abby is falling in love with a boy from her Parallel's memories--a boy she's never even met. She's living the life she always wanted, but what if living her Parallel's life means she loses her soul mate?show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 423 pages
  • 160.02 x 213.36 x 43.18mm | 476.27g
  • Harper Teen
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062199773
  • 9780062199775
  • 796,401

Review quote

Thought provoking, romantic, and so, so smart, PARALLEL is an absolute must read for anyone and everyone who has ever wondered, What if? --Anna Jarzab, author of ALL UNQUIET THINGS"show more

Back cover copy

Your path changes. Your destiny doesn't. Abby Barnes had a plan. The Plan. She'd go to Northwestern, major in journalism, and land a job at a national newspaper, all before she turned twenty-two. But one tiny choice--taking a drama class her senior year of high school--changed all that. Now, on the eve of her eighteenth birthday, Abby is stuck on a Hollywood movie set, miles from where she wants to be, wishing she could rewind her life. The next morning, she's in a dorm room at Yale, with no memory of how she got there. Overnight, it's as if her past has been rewritten. With the help of Caitlin, her science-savvy BFF, Abby discovers that this new reality is the result of a cosmic collision of parallel universes that has Abby living an alternate version of her life. And not only that: Abby's life changes every time her parallel self makes a new choice. Meanwhile, her parallel is living out Abby's senior year of high school and falling for someone Abby's never even met. As she struggles to navigate her ever-shifting existence, Abby must let go of the Plan and learn to focus on the present, without losing sight of who she is, the boy who might just be her soul mate, and the destiny that's finally within reach.show more

Our customer reviews

When Parallel arrived in the mail, I was a little disappointed because I was extremely busy in the middle of transferring jobs. I grudgingly opened the book to gauge how many days I needed to give myself at the end of that week to rush through the book. However, there was no reason for me to worry or begrudge the book in any way because I was immediately sucked into it and happily distracted by the story. Abby, the main character, is unhappy with the road that her life has taken. While she is [not] enjoying a life that many could only dream of, she resents the opportunity that she's been given. She goes to bed the night before her eighteenth birthday confused, but not as confused when she wakes up the next morning on the opposite side of the country. With the help of Caitlin and her randomly placed memories from her parallel self, she figures out how the alternate reality came about. Instead of giving you a long, drawn out review (because I'm already late), I'm going to tell you what I liked best about Parallel . First, I am a hardcore fan of old school science fiction, and Ray Bradbury has handled time travel and alternate realities best in A Sound of Thunder . Parallel handled its shenanigans pretty much the same way without being blatantly using the Butterfly Effect. (No, I'm not talking about the terrible movie with Ashton Kutcher.) The things that happened in Abby's parallel's past changed the future directly and immediately. She woke up several mornings in what could have easily have been the worst possible situation. Secondly, Lauren Miller was pretty accurate in portraying the behavior and emotions of older teenagers and/or new adults. Her characters made stupid decisions, had very selfish tendencies, were insecure about themselves, and friends said some pretty ugly things to each other. The turmoil and feeling of "My life is ovarrrrrr!" is what I remember best about my teen years. The fact that the characters were not perfect or miniature adults really let me connect with them and believe in them more. Abby and Caitlin bullied Ilana, the Queen Bee, in the own way just as much as she hassled them. There was boyfriend stealing and cheating galore, too, while I'm thinking about it. The third good about Parallel is that they characters were both forgiving and willing to learn from their mistakes. Yes, this is a supposedly a story about alternate realities, but it really hit me as contemporary love story, that was both about romance and friendship, that happened on two different timelines. True love (if there is such a thing) should only exist in the presence of forgiveness and willingness to change, and the folks in Parallel really embraced both. The best thing about the book is Abby. She wasn't willing to lay down and just accept her parallel's life. Her parallel had vastly different experiences and that life had taken a totally different path than what Abby ever thought that she'd choose for herself. She fought to make changes to her parallel's life to make it something of her own, realizing certain aspects of her former situation were actually things she loved and enjoyed. She was strong, but she really grew as a character. Parallel was not really what I expected initially, but a delightful read, nonetheless. I would recommend it mainly to contemporary fans, but anyone who likes a quick, sweet read would enjoy the book. - 4/5 Stars - *To satisfy FTC guidelines, I am disclosing that I received the book for reviewing purposes as a part of a Debut Author Challenge ARC Tour in exchange for an honest review. The advance copy was likely provided to the tour by the publisher or author, which has in no way affected the outcome of my review. All opinions expressed are rambling, honest, and completely my own.show more
by Kayla Beck
I just love concepts like these. The idea of parallel lives and how each little decision can effect so much is something that I have though about so much, and in Parallel I get to go through this with Abby. It was executed really well. She would wake up and rely on her friend Caitlyn to fill her in, and it was frustrating for her to have the gaps. She still remembered what she'd learned and the memories come back, but if it was changed by her parallel life then it felt more distant. I was torn over which year I liked better, and it was neat to see the different aspects of her personality come through in different ways in the different realities we get a glimpse of. She has the same characteristics, wanting to be in control, stubborn, strong and smart in all of them it just comes through in different ways. I think it is so interesting how she fights the decisions that have been made and she felt like there was no control. It was hard to see some of the best outcomes, or things that I liked keep changing by past decisions, and the people who get hurt along the way. But it is all what makes Abby develop and grow as a character, the pain and guilt and weight of experience that only she can remember. The hard times are also what makes the novel so deep and rich; the plots all tie together beautifully. The Josh and Michael plot line was especially trying! I couldn't decide which one was the right choice, but I love how it all worked out, and how destiny and fate played out to make the right choice obvious. It added a great element to the story, and while I wouldn't call it a traditional love triangle, it is definitely something that adds a lot of tension and ultimately resolve and closure to the story. It was so romantic though, and I loved every second, and was on the edge of my seat as to what would happen and how destiny would nudge things in the right way. I liked her character and I totally empathized with her as far as her confusion and jumbled feelings while all of this is going on. There are a few plot lines (actress by accident anyone?) that are a little far fetched, but its sci-fi and it's a novel, so I didn't have any issues with it. I also liked the constants, her friend Caitlyn was also fun to read about. I loved the combo of super-smart and nerdy plus fashionista. It made her realistic to me. I loved how she rolled with the punches and was a good friend no matter what choices or what seeming "craziness" Abby came up with or what she'd forgotten or changed. It is a true friendship and I liked watching that play out. There were some elements that went a little over my head like when Caitlyn and the professor were talking about sciences, but luckily I had Abby who didn't quite get all of that either, so it was broken down. I just enjoyed the ride and the time jumps, putting all of the pieces together and Abby as a main character so even if I didn't fully understand the whys, I still had a great time reading it. I had no idea how Ms. Miller was going to tie everything up and fix the wrongs, but the ending was awesome. It left just the right amount of resolve, and while I wouldn't mind going back into Abby's world, I also know that the beautiful ending she wrote for this story would be messed up. But let me just give a shout out for an awesome standalone with a beautifully tied up ending meaning no cliffie. Great resolution, plot, character growth and swoony romance in one book. Bottom Line: I cheered for the best possible ending for Abby and loved reading the ways that even the small choices effected her life and those she loved in such a big way.show more
by Brandi Kosiner (Brandi Breathes Books)
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X