The Paradox of Vertical Flight

The Paradox of Vertical Flight

3.64 (615 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Hilarious, deeply moving, mind-bending, original, romantic, and surprising, this debut teen novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Andrew Smith. Gary Shteyngart, author of the New York Times bestseller Super Sad True Love Story, says: "Do yourself a favor and get inside a car with Emil Ostrovski immediately! The Paradox of Vertical Flight is an amazing road trip. You're in for one heck of a ride." An Indie Next Pick!On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, Jack Polovsky kidnaps his own baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Walmart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and with the baby's mother, Jess. As they head to Grandma's house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates the Greek myths-because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. By turns funny, heart wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fatherhood, and myth."Shares a sense of humor and philosophical bent with such YA authors as John Green and Chris Crutcher. But the story and likable characters are Ostrovsky's own, a delightful mix of quirky, intelligent, naive, well-intentioned, and just plain dumb teens. A delightful success."-ALA Booklist
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 132 x 202 x 20mm | 200g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Greenwillow Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062238531
  • 9780062238535
  • 1,511,416

Review quote

"Do yourself a favor and get inside a car with Emil Ostrovski immediately! The Paradox of Vertical Flight is an amazing road trip. You're in for one heck of a ride." -- Gary Shteyngart, author of the New York Times bestseller Super Sad True Love Story "The Paradox of Vertical Flight has all the elements of a great read: funny, eloquent, deep, suspenseful. If you like books that are quirky and thoughtful, irreverent and touching, this book is for you." -- Francisco X. Stork, author of Marcelo in the Real World "The Paradox of Vertical Flight is a wonderfully quirky story about discovering the meaning of life when you least expect it: witty, smart, and exuberant. Emil Ostrovski is a talented writer to watch." -- Malinda Lo, Author of Ash and Huntress "The Paradox of Vertical Flight is a funny, smart, whimsical, compelling read. Emil Ostrovski takes us on a journey we haven't been on before, and entertains us the entire way. A new great fresh voice." -- Sara "An eccentric road trip . . . Amiable meanderings through ancient Greek philosophy are the novel's heart and soul. Channeled by a talented, millennial author. these age-old conundrums of good and evil, fate and free will feel fresh and urgent." -- Kirkus Reviews "On Jack's 18th birthday, two majoy events occur: he considers attempting suicide and he learns that his ex-girlfriend Jess has just given birth to his baby. What follows is a philosophical journey of self-discovery. . . . A moving and quirky tale . . . A whip-smart debut." -- School Library Journal "Shares a sense of humor and philosophical bent with such YA authors as John Green and Chris Crutcher....But the story and likable characters are Ostrovsky's own, a delightful mix of quirky, intelligent, naive, well-intentioned, and just plain dumb teens....A delightful success." -- Booklist
show more

Back cover copy

Falling is the only way we can fly.
show more

About Emil Ostrovski

Emil Ostrovski emigrated from Russia when he was two years old. He graduated from Vassar College in 2012 with a degree in philosophy and currently attends the MFA program in creative writing at Columbia University. The Paradox of Vertical Flight is his first novel.
show more

Rating details

615 ratings
3.64 out of 5 stars
5 25% (156)
4 33% (206)
3 26% (161)
2 10% (64)
1 5% (28)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X