The Paradox of Vertical Flight

The Paradox of Vertical Flight

3.64 (615 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Hilarious, deeply moving, mind-bending, original, romantic, and surprising, this debut teen novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Andrew Smith. Gary Shteyngart, author of the New York Times bestseller Super Sad True Love Story, says: "Do yourself a favor and get inside a car with Emil Ostrovski immediately! The Paradox of Vertical Flight is an amazing road trip. You're in for one heck of a ride." An Indie Next Pick!

On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, Jack Polovsky kidnaps his own baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Walmart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and with the baby's mother, Jess. As they head to Grandma's house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates the Greek myths--because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. By turns funny, heart wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fatherhood, and myth.

"Shares a sense of humor and philosophical bent with such YA authors as John Green and Chris Crutcher. But the story and likable characters are Ostrovsky's own, a delightful mix of quirky, intelligent, naive, well-intentioned, and just plain dumb teens. A delightful success."--ALA Booklist
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 142.24 x 210.82 x 27.94mm | 340.19g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062238523
  • 9780062238528
  • 1,135,982

Review quote

"The Paradox of Vertical Flight is a funny, smart, whimsical, compelling read. Emil Ostrovski takes us on a journey we haven't been on before, and entertains us the entire way. A new great fresh voice."--Sara
show more

Back cover copy

Good morning! Today is Jack's eighteenth birthday. Here's what's happened so far--

He woke up from a dream about dissecting frogs and measuring the bubbles produced by llamas. He just missed a call from Bob, his grandmother. He's not sure she'll remember he exists--which makes him sad, because he really loves her. He's thought about jumping out of the window. Not because he wants to die, mind you, but some attention would be nice. He's had a nonsensical conversation with his roommate, who is still asleep. While in the dorm bathroom, he popped a zit and listened to some guy (who should not be singing) singing in the shower.

Jack's cell phone rings a second time. He recognizes the number. Jess. He never thought he'd hear from her again.

Guess what? Jack's day is about to get epic.
show more

Rating details

615 ratings
3.64 out of 5 stars
5 25% (156)
4 33% (206)
3 26% (161)
2 10% (64)
1 5% (28)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X