Paper Wings

Paper Wings : Novel, a

3.57 (135 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$13.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Everyone in Suzanne's family acknowledges her mothers instability, yet no one has any idea why she suffers these bouts of depression. They simply accept them as fact and enjoy the moments when she emerges from them, buoyant and energetic. With Kennedy's election, presidency and assassination as background, Suzanne tells the story of the dissolution, and ultimate redemption, of her family. Sure to appeal to readers of Barbara Kingsolver, Alice Hoffman and Mona Simpson, Paper Wings is a subtle and moving novel about a mother and daughter who struggle, hope, and learn from each other how to emerge from shadows of tragedy.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 276 pages
  • 136.1 x 203.5 x 18mm | 204.12g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0060928379
  • 9780060928377
  • 2,192,753

Back cover copy

Everyone in Suzanne's family acknowledges her mothers instability, yet no one has any idea why she suffers these bouts of depression. They simply accept them as fact and enjoy the moments when she emerges from them, buoyant and energetic. With Kennedy's election, presidency and assassination as background, Suzanne tells the story of the dissolution, and ultimate redemption, of her family. Sure to appeal to readers of Barbara Kingsolver, Alice Hoffman and Mona Simpson, "Paper Wings" is a subtle and moving novel about a mother and daughter who struggle, hope, and learn from each other how to emerge from shadows of tragedy.
show more

Review quote

"The novelist's hypnotic rendering of one family and its response to a particularly important moment in recent American history contains scene after scene in which the terror lurking behind all middle-class existence seems constantly about to break through the surface of things...Marly Swick links all this together into an impressive first novel about love and education into the perils of family life."-- National Public Radio"Swick is a master of the small but significant detail, her prose as delicate as gossamer wings, her observations as finely tuned as a professional eye examination...In an age in which coming-of-age novels seem to be crawling out of the woodwork, "Paper Wings, in acknowledging how imperfect and random life can be, is a standout."-- "Cleveland Plain Dealer""Paper Wings evokes a sweet, uniquely American nostalgia as it follows Suzanne through the years, dissecting a family's--and a country's--innocence lost."-- "Entertainment Weekly, "A""Elicits the kind of pit-of-the-stomach feeling specially reserved for times of family disintegration, and, while there is no grand tragedy, the loss of those elusive islands of serenity is keenly felt."-- "The New Yorker
show more

Rating details

135 ratings
3.57 out of 5 stars
5 17% (23)
4 33% (44)
3 41% (56)
2 8% (11)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X