Pachinko
27%
off

Pachinko

4.35 (110 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

National Bestseller A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of A Fine Balance and Cutting for Stone. Profoundly moving and gracefully told, PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them. Betrayed by her wealthy lover, Sunja finds unexpected salvation when a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and bring her to Japan to start a new life. So begins a sweeping saga of exceptional people in exile from a homeland they never knew and caught in the indifferent arc of history. In Japan, Sunja's family members endure harsh discrimination, catastrophes, and poverty, yet they also encounter great joy as they pursue their passions and rise to meet the challenges this new home presents. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, they are bound together by deep roots as their family faces enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 490 pages
  • 162 x 236 x 40mm | 721g
  • Grand Central Publishing
  • United States
  • English
  • 1455563935
  • 9781455563937
  • 72,446

Review quote

"Expansive, elegant and utterly absorbing...Combining the detail of a documentary with the empathy of the best fiction, it's a sheer delight."--The Daily Mailshow more

About Min Jin Lee

Min Jin Lee's debut novel, Free Food for Millionaires, was one of the "Top 10 Novels of the Year" for The Times (London), NPR's Fresh Air, and USA Today. Her short fiction has been featured on NPR's Selected Shorts. Her writings have appeared in Conde Nast Traveler, The Times (London), Vogue, Travel+Leisure, Wall Street Journal, New York Times Magazine, and Food & Wine. Her essays and literary criticism have been anthologized widely. She served as a columnist for the Chosun Ilbo, the leading paper of South Korea. She lives in New York with her family.show more

Review Text

One of Buzzfeed's "32 Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017 " Included in The Millions' "Most Anticipated: The Great 2017 Book Preview " One of Elle 's "25 Most Anticipated Books by Women for 2017 " BBC: "Ten Books to Read in 2017" One of BookRiot's "Most Anticipated Books of 2017 " One of Nylon's "50 Books We Can't Wait To Read In 2017 " One of Entertainment Weekly's Best New Booksshow more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X