The Oxford Book of Fantasy Stories

The Oxford Book of Fantasy Stories

3.82 (120 ratings by Goodreads)
Edited by 

List price: US$17.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


'So you won't sell me your soul?' said the Devil. 'Thank you,' replied the student, 'I had rather keep it myself, if it's all the same to you.' So begins this rich and intriguing collection of fantasy stories. Figures such as the devil, trolls and werewolves, sorcerers and dragons have long been part of the human psyche, and the authors of these marvellous tales draw upon this deep well of images, characters, and landscapes with great imagination and subtlety. With thirty-one tales by writers as diverse as John Buchan and Mervyn Peake, Angela Carter and Terry Pratchett, this is an anthology for the newcomer and dedicated fan more

Product details

  • Paperback | 522 pages
  • 128.5 x 196.6 x 27.9mm | 349.27g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 0192803824
  • 9780192803825

Review quote

"All the writers here know their craft, and the best of them know much more than that."--The New York Times"As Tom Shippey puts it, in his unfailingly intelligent and interesting introduction to The Oxford Book of Fantasy Stories, 'the rule is that sorcerers always lose.' Tom Shippey has chosen well, and his choice of stories accurately reflects the themes and moods of the genre as a whole."--Times Literary Supplementshow more

Table of contents

Introduction; The Demon Pope (1888); The Fortress Unvanquishable, Save for Sacnoth (1908); Through the Dragon Glass (1917); The Nameless City (1921); The Wind in the Portico (1928); The Tower of the Elephant (1933); Xeethra (1934); Jirel Meets Magic (1935); The Bleak Shore (1940); Homecoming (1947); See You Later (1949); Liane the Wayfarer (1950); The Desrick on Yandro (1952); The Silken-Swift (1953); Operation Afreet (1956); The Singular Events which Occured in the Hovel on the Alley off of Eye Street (1962); The Sudden Wings (1962); Same Time, Same Place (1963); Timothy (1966); The Kings of the Sea (1968); Not Long Before the End (1969); The Wager Lost by Winning (1970); Lila the Werewolf (1974); Johanna (1978); The Erl-King (1979); Beyond the Dead Reef (1983); Subworld (1983); Bite-Me-Not or Fleur de Fur (1984); The Night of White Bhairab (1984); Thorn (1986); Troll Bridge (1992); Select Bibliography; Sources; Source Acknowledgementsshow more

About Tom Shippey

Tom Shippey holds the Walter J. Ong Chair of Humanities at St Louis University, Missouri, specializing in Medieval Literature, Old English Arthurian and Romance Literature, Fantasy, and Science Fiction. He has written and edited numerous books, including J. R. R. Tolkien: Author of the Century (2001).show more

Rating details

120 ratings
3.82 out of 5 stars
5 32% (38)
4 35% (42)
3 22% (26)
2 8% (9)
1 4% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X