The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away

The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away

3.45 (44 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award winner Ronald L. Smith, twelve-year-old Simon thinks he was abducted by aliens. But is it real, or just his over-active imagination? Perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and Louis Sachar.

Twelve-year-old Simon is obsessed with aliens. The ones who take people and do experiments. When he's too worried about them to sleep, he listens to the owls hoot outside. Owls that have the same eyes as aliens--dark and foreboding.

Then something strange happens on a camping trip, and Simon begins to suspect he's been abducted. But is it real, or just the overactive imagination of a kid who loves fantasy and role-playing games and is the target of bullies and his father's scorn?

Even readers who don't believe in UFOs will relate to the universal kid feeling of not being taken seriously by adults that deepens this deliciously scary tale.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 224 pages
  • 142.24 x 213.36 x 27.94mm | 454g
  • United States
  • English
  • 132884160X
  • 9781328841605
  • 1,085,828

Review quote

"I hugged this book last night because I love Simon so much." --Erin Entrada Kelly, Newbery Award-winning author of Hello, Universe

"Smith (Hoodoo, 2015) continues to be one of the most distinct and impressive voices in middle-grade speculative fiction right now."--Booklist

"An eerie and layered tale with a main character to which young readers will relate."--School Library Journal

"CSK/Steptoe Award-winning author Smith (Hoodoo, rev. 9/15) crafts a tightly plotted novel full of suspense and compassion with a climax that will chill readers straight to the bone."--The Horn Book Magazine

"A middle-grade X-Files primer."--Kirkus

"The touching efficacy of this novel is in its showing rather than telling of a boy with the weight of multiple worlds--whether through the media or family or his own mind--placed squarely on his small shoulders."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
show more

About Ronald L Smith

Ronald L. Smith is the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award-winning author of Hoodoo, The Mesmerist, and Black Panther: The Young Prince. He lives in Baltimore, Maryland.
strangeblackflowers.com
Twitter: @RonSmithbooks
show more

Rating details

44 ratings
3.45 out of 5 stars
5 18% (8)
4 32% (14)
3 32% (14)
2 14% (6)
1 5% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X